Skip to main content

What to do and see?

Riebiņi manor and park

Riebiņi manor and park

In older times, feudal property in the local surroundings was called Krevmuiža (in English - Krevi manor), possibly, the centre of the manor was called Kreve or , most likely, Krevi, because 4 km from Riebiņi, in a village, that is called Silajāņi, is located a Krevi messuage. In the mid-16th century, the ordermestre ("ordeņmestrs") Pletenbergs gave them over to Gerhards Rēbinders. Since 1600, Ribenišķi belonged to Korfi family. In the beginning of the 17th century, Korfi family built Riebini manor in its current location, but there is a possibility, that Riebini manor was built in the end of 16th century by Rēbinderi family, but Korfi family only increased it in size. The manor later belonged to Reki family, then Veisenholfi family. A beautiful park was created in the wide yard of the castle, there also was a pool with a fountain.

 

 

The officer of Polish court, Mihals Veisenholfs, added two similar side buildings to Korfi castle and two towers. One of the towers contained a chapel, another had a library. In the yard of the castle were two one-storey buildings in front of each other. The left building was called "orchestra house", because that is where the musicians of the castle lived, the right building was called "oficina", which served as a kitchen and storage place. Riebini castle, apart from its large library, that was developed by its many inhabitants, also had a remarkable art collection and thus a painting and sculpture gallery was created. Many antique furniture were found in the castle.

 

 

 

 

Later on, the son Arnolds of Mihails Veisenholfs (1874) sold it to a Polish engineer, S.V.Kerbedzs, whose family lived in the manor till the end of World War I. It's unknown what the state of the building was in 1874 when Kerbedzi began to live in it, who previously spent most of their life in Poland and other countries. When Jāzeps Veisenholfs visited Riebini in 1883, the castle was found to be empty. In the beginning of the 20th century, the castle was abandoned for a longer time, but it was reconstructed by Jevgenija Kerbedza, a well-known philanthropist of the time, who gave the accommodations of the manor as a resting place for artists, writers and composers. After and invitation of J.Kerbedza, Riebiņi in 1904 were visited by an artist Konrāds Kržižanovskis (1872. – 1922.) with his students from Warsaw school. This is where his works "Billiard hall in Riebini" (1904), "Piano" (1905) were created. Together with his students he remained there in 1907 as well, when a painting "Winter studio with students" was created. The manor was a place of residence for the well-known Lithuanian painter and composer Nikolajs Konstantīns Čurļonis (1875. – 1911.), who has said: "Riebini is a real artists' retreat". 

 

 

 

 

In 1918, due to agricultural reform, the central part of the manor was given to Silajāņi village council, that in 1920 created a Six-year-long Primary school that worked till 1979, after which the local kolkhoz ("collective farm" in Soviet times) used it as a storage space.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Skolas Street 5, Riebini, Preili Municipality, LV-5329

Lat: 56.3365036, Lon: 26.8012014

Gallery:

Galēni manor and park

Galēni manor and park

In front of the Galēni manor Lord house is a park of a regular planning, created in a French style during the time of Mihails Borhs (1751.-1811.). On the perimeter, the park is surrounded by alleys of trees and rows of trees, but in the centre, dry ditches resemble bastion-like fortifications. Park has 14 species of exotic trees and shrubs. This park is a nature object to be protected by the state, that has the area of 5,9 ha. The territory is maintained on a regular basis, the compositions are being renewed. An oak alley was renewed in 2000, overall 40 trees were planted in the framework of a park reconstruction project of a Latvian University of Agriculture students, as a part of their Agriculture engineer faculty thesis. In the central area of the manor park different events are held, for example, Midsummer celebrations. Every year in April and May, joint-work activities are done in order to do necessary maintenance work of the park. In 13th century, the lands on the South of Lubāna lake, Galēni was a part of Jersika kingdom. In the 14th century, Galēni belonged to Eizenhauzeni family. Since 1450, the manor was a property of von Tīzenhaunzeni. In 1472-1483, the mestre ("mestrs") of Livonian order was Bernds fon Borhs, who in 1483 gave the Tīzenhauzeni property to his relative, Simons Borhs, for which Tīzenhauzeni sued B.Borhs in a court. Due to this and other issues, B.Borhs was cancelled from being a mestre of the Livonian order. In 1561, Tīzenhauzeni family property was given in a legally right fashion to Lord Fabian fon Borh. Galēni was a property of Borhi family up until 19th century, the last owner of the manor from 1893 till the nationalization of the manor in 1920 was Anna fon Engelhart. The Lord house was probably built already in the 18th century and was later reconstructed many times. The current mezzanine and windows of the roof were built in the mid-19th century. The manor complex has a lot of household buildings - living buildings, barns, stables, servant house, garners, guardian houses. They were grouped around the household yard, to which a gate, built in stone columns, led. The oldest and typologically most interesting is the stone barn with contra-forces ("kontraforsi") and attic roof, that was build in the second part of 18th century. Later it was modernized, fish ponds and fruit gardens were created.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Galēni Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.4784475, Lon: 26.8384113

Gallery:

Pastari windmill

Pastari windmill

The ground floor of the windmill has been built of broken boulders. The upper floors have been created of wood. The building is covered in planks and shavings. On top if it there is a rotatable upper part - "head" and "hat".

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Pastari, Stabulnieki Parish, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 26465998

Lat: 56.4280952, Lon: 26.7478696

Gallery:

Geļenova manor and park

Geļenova manor and park

The beautiful park has 23 types of exotic trees and shrubs, and it is 8 ha large. The history of the park originates from 1890s, when it belonged to a landlord who built the park in honor of his daughter Helēna. A manor and its related buildings where located in the park territory. The manor resembled renaissance style, but nowadays only the foundation and a few buildings remain.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Geļenova, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329

Lat: 56.2182410, Lon: 26.9158637

Gallery:

Castle mound of Šņepsti

Castle mound of Šņepsti

The hill that resembles a prolonged bread loaf, is 19 meters high. In the South-West side it was fortified with ditches, between which an ascend to the castle mound plateau was located. The castle mound was destroyed largely by those who were seeking antiques. The local farmers for some Bogomoļeca father in Jaunā manor would carry lots and lots of antiques they found in the castle mound in order to get money. Latvian History musem still holds two oval 5th century lighter stones and other antiques. Some items found in the castle mound currently can be viewed in a musem in Vilnius, Lithuania. A tale tells, that there were two doors on the sides of the castle bound. Behind it a young girl sat with a black dog by her feet. The girl had to collect berries from a thorn bush for seven years. In other tales it was said, that she had lended her money for the local people for some time. One of them didn't pay it back on time and he was tormented be devils.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Šņepsti, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.2356390, Lon: 26.8470134

Gallery:

Rušona manor

Rušona manor

Built in 1903. The main house is a single storey building with a two storey central part. Gabled roof, four-sided roof in the central part. Architecture style - neo rennaissance. 

 

 

Contacts:

Rušona, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 27533033, +371 22594220
www.rusonasmuiza.lv
dinars@sacco.lv
Lat: 56.1873173, Lon: 26.9766535

Gallery:

Sacrificial stone of Upursala

Sacrificial stone of Upursala

In the central part of Upursala (in English - Sacrificial island) is a swelling on the highest place of which is located a stone, that even today is called Upurakmens (in English - Sacrificial stone). According to a legend, the stone used to have carved writings and that lambs were sacrificed on it. Nowadays no carvings are visible. The Sacrificial stone is 1,2 m high and 5,5 m wide (on the ground). The upside of the stone is crumbled, possibly on purpose, the stone itself is coarse-grained. Fires were burned near the stone and on it - the crumbling and stone shards found around the stone indicate it. During archeological research, it was discovered, that nearby the Sacrifical stone were two shallow holes, in one of which were found half-burnt pine barks. During the excavation there were no antiques found that could possibly indicate the time period that Sacrificial stone was used. The items found nearby were of different time periods. Right now it is assumed, that Sacrifical stone was used as place of worship for local Kristapiņi, Liepu island, Mazie mucenieki and Kurtoša settlement inhabitants, and inhabitants of other ancient settlements.  Upursala is located in the West side of Rušona lake, approximately 1,5 km from the Western shore, where Kristapiņu ancient burial place (8. - 13.century) can be found. The ancient burial place was nearby an even older settlement. Certain ancient items indicate, that the place was inhabited at the end of 1000 B.C., in the beginning of our era. Between Upursala and Kristapiņi ancient burial place stands Liepu island (in English - Linden island). In newspapers in 1936 it was stated, that near Liepu island, in the lake, paling of a very ancient building was found. In 1964 a hydroarcheological expedition, led by J.Apals, discovered that the wood constructions belong to a medieval building. In the few past years some chippings of ancient dishes were found on Liepu island. It could indicate, that people inhabited the island as well. The Northern shore of Rušona lake is closer to Upursala, because near the Mazo Mucenieku village a cape runs into the lake. A cultural layer has been discovered on the cape. Antiquities from medieval times have been found near Rušona manor too. 

Approximately one kilometer North of Rušona lake is located the Kurtoša castle mound. From old times it has been cultivated and has lost its original appearance. All the shores of Rušona lake have been inhabited by people since old ancient times. 

Contacts:

Lielā (Upursala) sala in Rušona lake,
Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.1824815, Lon: 26.9987800

Gallery:

Castle mound of Rušeņica

Castle mound of Rušeņica

This historical and cultural monument should be visited by anyone who are interested in history and archeology - this castle mound was examined for its bronze-age settlement. Rušenica castle mound is located on the right bank of Rušenica river, 1 km from Rušona manor. A castle was located on top of the Rušenica castle mound in ancient times. This castle mound was used for military needs and wasn't used for living. The castle mound has never been cultivated and thus it has remained untouched.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Rušeņica, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.2215236, Lon: 27.0188767

Gallery:

Preili manor complex and park

Preili manor complex and park

The beautiful, romantical Preiļi park is still preserved nowadays, although it originates from mid-19th century. Even today, it is one of the most remarkable Latvian parks in the countryside. The park is 41 ha large, from which around 13 ha consists of ponds and canals. There are 25 species of trees and shrubs in the park, some of them are already considered Great trees ("Dižkoks" - remarkably old and large tree). The complex of Preiļi manor is a  state-level architectural heritage. Every element itself - the castle, chapel, stables, gate, guard house, and park are considered state-level architectural heritage as well. The castle is under supervision of Preiļi Municipality Council, that also takes care of the park territory and its building. There is a possibility, that the Preiļi park was planned by an Italian architect Vinčenco Macoti (1756-1798). The park used to be surrounded by a decorative walls (castella). There is a four row Linden alley, in midst of which lays Preiļupīte, a tiny river, which was flooded to create a pond and cannel system with many islands. In midst of Linden and foreign trees, and shrubs were installed amazing arbors. In the park there are beautiful and well-maintained shrub compositions. During Soviet times, many harsh mistakes were made in maintaining the park - many ponds have been overgrown. As time passed, almost all park buildings, that could be considered to be "small architecture" were lost, together with a wood-carved sculpture "Adam and Eve in Paradise" in its tiniest island. None of the left hills in the park have their previously installed pavilions. Almost all of the white-colored wooden bridges were lost. The park holds several buildings that are connected to the Preiļi manor complex - Preiļi castle, chapel, guard house, stables and three gates. All of them are state-level architecture heritage memorials. In previous times, the park held a lot of household buildings and it was decorated with many sculptures, flower towers and bridges, tea houses, pavilions and remarkable furniture.

Preiļi castle is an amazing 19th century historicism example of manor architecture. It presents the romanticism period in Latvian manor art and their social life. In middle ages, Preiļi municipality and castle belonged to Livonian order, but since 1382 - for von Borh family. The architecture style - neo gothic. Preiļi medieval castle was destroyed during the attack of Tsar Ivan the Terrible in 1558-1582. The destroyed castle wasn't reconstructed, but a new one was built that was destroyed in fire in 18th century. Instead of that, a new house was built, but it wasn't up to the standards of the family. Thus, in 1860-1865 a new castle was built in a Tudorian neo-gothic style. It is thought that the old house was included in the castle. As the possible authors of the project are mentioned G.Šahts and A.Beļeckis. There was an oak-wood panelling in the house, an ornamental, plastic decor, that created a romantical interior. None of the original wall coverings have remained. The Preiļi manor New castle stands without inner walls, windows, floors, doors at least for the second time and is currently in a critical state. Since 1930s, the castle was used as an agriculture school, a high school and a sewing factory. From the household buildings, the 19th century neogothic stables, gates with sharp-bowed arches, a guard house and a chapel (1817.g.) remain. K. Veinberga, J.Zviedrāns.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Phone: +371 29116431
+371 22339980

It is possible to book a tour of the town and park (1,5 h).

Lat: 56.2879828, Lon: 26.7295142

Gallery:

Anspoki hunting lodge

Anspoki hunting lodge

In the time period from the beginning of the 19th century till the 1860, large construction and improvement works were being done. They were first started by earl Jozefs Heinrihs Borhs, and were finished by his son, Mihaels Borhs, who was the last owner of Preiļi. During this time Borhi chapel, Preiļi New castle and outhouses were built. Together with building the castle, Borhi reconstructed the previous park, tremendously increasing it in size. Anspoki hunting lodge was built in the same time period, but nowadays only ruins of it remain. Some stories tell that there is a tunnel between Anspoki hunting lodge and Preiļi New castle, but to this day no one has found it.

Contacts:

Anspoki, Preiļi Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.2703269, Lon: 26.7563865

Gallery:

Pelēči manor

Pelēči manor

In the late 19th century, the manor was a place of residence for the mother and sister of Rainis for a few years. Near the manor there is a lake with ponds, and plantations of foregin trees and shrubs. 

Contacts:

Pelēči manor, Pelēči, Pelēči Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.1437203, Lon: 26.7190978

Gallery:

Stables of Kastīre manor

Stables of Kastīre manor

An architecture monuments - 19th century stables of former Kastīre manor - is located in Kastīre. The Kastīre manor from 19th - 20th century belonged to Žabi family. A part of Žabis family are a member of Polish uprising and traveler N.Žaba (1805. - 1885.) and his brother - the remarkable researcher of Kurdish language, literature and history, A.Žaba  (1800.-1894.).

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Stables of Kastīre manor, Kastīre, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.2133581, Lon: 26.8699324

Gallery:

Gaiļmuiža (Gailīši) manor

Gaiļmuiža (Gailīši) manor

The master house is well preserved and until August 2009 it served as elementary school, currently it serves as a social care centre. On the other side of the road one can find Gailīši Centre of Culture, a memorial for the Soviet soldiers who died during WWII, Gailīši library and other buildings.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Gaiļmuiža, Rušona Parish, Riebiņi Municipality

Phone: +371 26487169

Lat: 56.2840726, Lon: 26.8633087

Gallery:

Pine of Rumēlija

Pine of Rumēlija

Pine of Rumēlija or Macedonian pine is a tree with a slim trunk and hanging, resin covered cones, that resemble spruce cones. The tree originates from Balkan peninsula.

Contacts:

Maskeviciški, Pelēči Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.1634462, Lon: 26.7762726

Gallery:

Preili chapel

Preili chapel

Working hours:
Monday – closed
Tuesday – friday from 11:00 to 18:00
Saturday - Sunday – from 12:00  to 18:00

Contacts:

Rainis boulevard 23, Preiļi.

Phone: +371 65322041, +371 29116431

 

Lat: 56.2885705, Lon: 26.7270924

Gallery:

Arendole estate

Arendole estate

A manor house is a listed building. Place of the estate has been mentioned in the old documents already in the 16th century and its name probably came from the its first owner Arent von Dalen. At the end of 18th century Arendole estate was owned by Duke Sieberg and in the beginning of 19th century it became a property of Duke Mihail Plater. After that the age of Plater-Sieberg family began. What is significant that in the 1861 in Arendole manor Duke Stanislav Plater-Sieberg prepared a document of liberation of serfs in Latgalian language.

Contacts:

Arendole Manor, Arendole, Preiļi Municipality

+371 29421413, +371 29229713, +371 26446757

arendolemanor@gmail.com,

faimja@gmail.com

www.arendole.lv

Lat: 56.1515182, Lon: 26.6111379

 

Gallery:

Preili park trail of legacy trees

Preili park trail of legacy trees

 

The trail starts near the ruins of the historic Horse Stable, walking towards the Chapel. Coordinates of the location of the first tree (GPS):  Lat: 56.287786, Lon: 26.726840 

An information stand with information about the specific big tree and a reference to the QR code is installed next to each tree, which can be scanned with your android system's smart device to open the big tree trail mobile application. When you open it for the first time, you are prompted to install an application on your smart device, where you can select one of the languages ​​offered. As well as the Preiļi park trail application, everyone can find it in the Google Play Store environment.

The information of the big trees mobile application is offered in several languages, thus promoting the opportunities for foreign tourists and park visitors to learn about Preili Park, its nature and history. The information provided can be read in Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian, Polish, English and German.

Contacts:

Coordinates of the location of the first tree (GPS):  Lat: 56.287786, Lon: 26.726840

It is near the Chapel of Preili Park  (Rainis boulevard 23, Preiļi)

Gallery:

Prayer site of Old-Believer Church of Moskvina

Prayer site of Old-Believer Church of Moskvina


When in 1962 the Old-Believer church in Preiļi was destroyed, the congregation merged with Moskvina congregation. The prayer site was built in the honor of the virgin conception of Our Lady and St.Nikolai. This congregation is known not only in Latvia, but in the Baltic states as a congregation that was famous with one of the highest quality chanting and singers.

Contacts:

"Moskvina", Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 24922041

Lat: 56.3041595, Lon: 26.6427166

Gallery:

Roman Catholic Church of Heart of Jesus

Roman Catholic Church of Heart of Jesus

During summer season it is not rare for the church to hold several weddings in a day. The church is located by the Pieniņi lake. Nearby is a well-mainainted, small beach. The old wooden church in Pieniņi was built in 1806 and has been preserved till our times, but is currently used as a storage place. The wooden church was built by the lord Borhs. In 1936, the dean J.Kiseļevskis was ordered to build a new church by the lake. The church is created of concrete bricks with one tower in a gothical style. In 1939 the main construction work was finished and the church was consecrated. It is devoted to the honour of the Heart of Jesus and guardianship of Saint Anna. Three doors lead into the church: in the end of the church, on the right side of it and sacristy. There are three altars and three "navas". The wooden ceiling in the middle "nava" are circle-shaped, but on the side "navas" are flat. The floor is created of colorful tiles. Each side has three stone pillars, on which the superstructure of the church bases itself. The large altar holds a statue of the Saint Heart of Jesus. The head of the statue is created of wood, which was made by a carver in Subate, but the rest of it was created from gypsum. One the left side altar is a statue of Virgin Mary Heart, but on the right side a painting of Saint Jadviga. All three altars are made of oak in a gothic style. Each side has four windows, a colorful stained glass mosaic. On the left side of the church there is a storage room, on the right - stairway to choir room. There is no organ, but there is harmonica. In the facade of the church there is a high, square-shaped tower with bells. The tower has tiny side towers with crosses in the midle The church has a garden, around which there is a white wooden fence with white brick bars. Same white brick bars are by the gate. On the left of the garden there is a metal cross from the old church that has been installed on a stone podesta. It is a very old creation of craftsmen.

Contacts:

Pieniņi church house, Pieniņi, Preiļi Municipality

Phone: +371 65329171, +371 29516867,

e-mail: pienini21@tvnet.lv 

Lat: 56.3648866, Lon: 26.7185468

Gallery:

Catholic Church of St.Pavil and St.Peter

Catholic Church of St.Pavil and St.Peter

The first catholic church in Riebiņi was built by landlord Veisenhofs in 1771. It was a wooden building with one tower, with a panelling facade. After the construction of the new church, the old one, that was in a very bad state, was pulled down. The current church was built in the lead of a dean Dominiks Andrekus, the construction work was taking place up until 1907. He used the Nīdermuiža church building plan, and had the same construction work manager. The dean Andrekus died in February 15 in 1908. He hadn't installed windows and doors in the new church - it was done by the next dean. The construction was begun in 1894 and finished in 1909. The church is built of split boulders. At sides, ledges and towers it is made of red brick. The church is on a bank of Feimaņi river, in the very centre of Riebiņi. The highly functional and ascetic interior is combinated with a very painterly and color-varied facade with elements of neo gothic. The Riebiņi church is 15 meters long and 12 meters wide with a tin roof. It consists of three  "navas" with a tile floor. The church has electricity. Both the church and sacristy can be heated.

Contacts:

Saules Street 13, Riebiņi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5324

Phone: 29429028

aivarskursitis@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.3405953, Lon: 26.7983728

Gallery:

Rušona Catholic church of St.Archangel

Rušona Catholic church of St.Archangel

The first known Catholic church of Rušona was a wood building, supposedly, built in the 16th century. Rušona used to be a populated place with the rights of a village, because there were large roads going through it: to Daugavpils, Dagda, Rēzekne and other places. When a railroad and highway were built, they didn't go through Rušona village and life in it slowly declined and around 1870 it lost its village status. 
In 1677, Jesuits together with steward Sokolovskis built a wood church in Rušona. In 1766, in the location of the previous church was built the third wood church, but in 1816, funded by Ieva Selecka, was built the current stone church of Rušona.

Contacts:

Rušona, Rušona Parish, Riebiņi Municipality, LV-5329

Phone: +371 22124212 

Lat: 56.1861432, Lon: 26.9682966

Gallery:

Vidsmuiža Catholic church of St.Spirit

Vidsmuiža Catholic church of St.Spirit

The first church in Galēni was built of wood in 1743. The construction of the church was fully funded by landlord Borhs. The church existed for over 160 years and was 245 square meters in size. The new, boulder-built church was allowed to be built only in the place of the old, wooden church. That is why it was pulled down, moved over the road and restored. During the construction work of the new church, the old wooden church was used for church services. The church didn't have a tower by then, and only had a cross on top of it. After the new church was built, the old church served as a space for shop, a hall for choir repetitions and as an exhibition hall. After the World War II the church served as a space for shop and it was destroyed in fire in 1945. The new boulder-built church was built by dean Staņislavs Žvegzda. It was built in two years - from 1919 till 1912. There are stories, that well before this church in Galēni there was a small chapel that was located in the right side of presbytery garden, but there is no evidence to prove that. Galēni was a mission place for Jesuits who used to hold their church serices there. It is approved by the fact, that in 1715 a Galēni farmer used to walk to Preiļi to visit a missionaire - a Jesuit, to find spiritual consolation. In old times, Galēni congregation consisted of residents of three manors: Galēni, Polkorone and Aleksandropole manors. The landlord was very strict during the construction of the new church. He would ask for payment even for the water and gravel, that was used for the building. That is why the farmers took water from a spring and were getting gravel from afar. The construction was funded by the congregation. To build it faster, the floor is without a single elevation. And also because gravel was extremely expensive to buy from the local landlord. The construction of towers was also put in halt and has not been finished as planned. The dean gave a good wage for the workers, that is why some members of the congregation also took on the jobs at the construction site. After the building of the church, the dean Žvegzda went to Lietuva. The new church, just like the old one, was consecrated in honor of St.Spirit. In 1914 the Galēni new church was consecrated by metropolite V.Kļučinskis. In this celebration, the dean Žvergzda couldn't attend "as a persona non-grata in front of the metropolite", although he was in Galēni at the time.

The church was built of split boulders with two towers of red brick. The zinc tin roof has a tiny tower above sacristy. The floor is made of concrete tiles, but the ceiling - from wood, in the arc arch they were plastered. Their weight balances on stone pillars, that split the church in three "navas". The church has three altars, the largest one is in two storeys - upper and lower. There are the following paintings: the coming of St.Spirit above the apostles, St.Jānis and St.Bērtulis. The right side altar holds a painting of Aglona Virgin Mary. On the other side altar there are St.Juris and St.Kazimirs paintings. All altars are made of wood. The Abmon is also created of wood. There are sacristies on both sides of presbytery. On the left side there is an entrance in the sacristy from the outside, and it works as a storage place. The other sacristy holds lithurgical clothing and dishes. They all were bought during the time of dean B.Grišāns. After the death of dean P.Bruža, due to conflict of the congregation, the previous items were gone. Presbytery is divided from the church by a wooden Holy Communion. There are spacious rooms for choir and organ. The window frames are made of iron. The church still has items from the old church : paintings, chandelier, procession cross, that was donated by Monika Apeinis in 1907. In 1920 the bishop A. Springovičs chose Galēni as his summer residence. Here in August 29, 1920 he consecrated the first dean in his life - Antons Oļševskis. In the congregation cemetery dean A.Punculis (in the war cemetery) and P.Bružas are buried. Both have memorials. In Malta-Trūpi cemetery there is a wooden chapel. It is built rather recently and is very simple: around a cemetery cross there are 6 posts, that have been covered with paneling, above which is a roof made of shavings. In other cemeteries there are no chapels. 

 

 

Around the presbytery church garden, in the left corner is installed a tower bell on top of a stone postament. It has been left from the times of the old church. There are 4 copper bells in the tower. One is 6 poods, other is 3 poods and the two remaing ones are half pood in weight.

 

 

The biggest events are Pentecost (40 hours), St. John the Christener and St.Bērtulis days. In 1899 there were 2335 men and 2328 women in the congregation. In 1939 happened a canonic visitation of bishop J.Rancāns. A sermon was said by S.Vaikuļs. Importantly, right after the arrival of the bishop, during the rain at night the foundation of the honorary gate were eroded and they fell down. Soon after that, dean P.Bružas died (from 1859 til 1863 the dean was S.Lupeiko and the vicar -  Antons Bortkevičs)

 

 

Contacts:

Bērzu Street 2, Galēni, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 65329064

Lat: 56.4773455, Lon: 26.8421784

Gallery:

Roman Catholic church of Preiļi

Roman Catholic church of Preiļi

In 1676 in Preiļi, a landlord Borhs built a small wooden church and gave it to Jesuits.

In 1771 or 1772, a landlord Jāzeps Borhs built a new church, in honor of a year of Virgin Mary Assumption into Heaven, that was conscecrated by dominicans. In 1873, the dean of Preiļi congregation, Jarockis, decided to renovate the old church and initiated a council meeting. The council decided, that renovation is not enough and concluded, that a new church must be constructed. The approval of this project was received in 1878. The old church was pulled down, but until the construction of the new church (1886), the church sevices were held in a park of the manor, in which Borhi family chapel had been installed in 1817.

The construction of the church was finished in 1886, it was consecrated by a dean of Preiļi, Pēteris Paulins Danusevičs. It was suitable for 1200 churchgoers. The Preiļi church is 28 meters long (without presbitery and anteroom) and 31 meters wide with a tin roof, built of grey boulders. The tower of the church is 30 meters high, together with the cross it is 33,35 meters high. From 1983 - 1984 the church interior walls were painted with a lime color and "līmkrāsa". There is a garden surrounding the church, and a stone fence with a tin roof that surrounds it. In both sides of the garden there are two small chapels. In the tower there are three bells. "Saint Peter" - the large bell, "Saint Francisc" - the medium bell and "Saint Theresa" - the small bell. In 1938 and organ was installed in the church by a Kolbe company. 

In honour of the centennial anniversary of the church, a Mother Latgale statue was installed in 1993, the sculptor of which is B.Buls. A memorial for the politically repressed is also installed nearby the church, the sculptor of which is Vija Dzintare.

The church can take in up to 1200 persons at once. Web page: www.preili.lv/bazneica/divkolpuojumi.htm

Contacts:

Tirgus Square 11, Preiļi, LV 5301,

Phone: +371 65322801

+371 65322731

Lat: 56.2942571, Lon: 26.7263571

Gallery:

Prayer house of Preiļi Church of Old-Rite

Prayer house of Preiļi Church of Old-Rite

A Prayer house of Preiļi Old-Rite church existed already in 1930s. It was located in Raiņa boulevard (Liepu Street). It was a tiny building with one tower. Only the gates exist to this date, because in 1962 the church was closed down and later pulled down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 1990 the head of Preiļi Old-Rite congregation, Vasilijs Hrapunovs, proposed and later developed the idea of building a new Old-Rite church in Preiļi. In 1999, in Saint Petersburg the project was drawed and in 1992 the construction works begun. The author of the project is architect P.Mirosnikovs. Vasilijs Harpunovs organized donation measures, lead the workers, built the walls and furnaces himself. 

In November 24, 1996, the construction works were finished and the church was consecrated. It was fully funded by private donations and donations of the local Old-Rite church congregation.

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Jelgavas Street 12, Preiļi, LV-5301

Lat: 56.2937496, Lon: 26.7327770

Gallery:

Jasmuiža Roman Catholic Church

Jasmuiža Roman Catholic Church

In the old times, there was a small wooden church in the Jasmuiža cemetery. The time it was built is unkown, but in the 1815, the landlord Ksaverijs Šadurskis built a stone church around it, and the church was dedicated to the Holy cross exhaling glory. The church was 24 m long, 12 m in width and 10 m in height, it had a rectangular form. Under the porch on the wall there were paintings of  Saint Peter and Saint Pavel. The church had no towers and it stayed this way till 1926, when the dean Ostrovskis reconstructed the church, leaving only the walls. To build the chapel, the side walls were made to be 9 meters long, so that it was possible to build a 9 m wide and a 3 m long chapel. The church was lengthened 6 meters, and a small tower was built on top of this extension. The Church of Jasmuiža is 15 meters long and 20 meters wide, with several "navas" and in a shape of a cross.

 

 

Contacts:

Rainis Street 17, Aizkalne, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5305

Lat: 56.1991113, Lon: 26.7785320

Gallery:

Jasmuiža (Aizkalne) Russian Orthodox Church

Jasmuiža (Aizkalne) Russian Orthodox Church

Historian S.Saharov in a book, published in 1939 "Pareizticīgo baznīcas Latgalē" ("Russian Orthodox Churches in Latgale") has stated, that Jasmuiža (Aizkalne) Russian Orthodox Church was built in 1904 with the help of a local landlord, Grigorijs Kuzņecovs, and his son Ņikita. The state treasury aided the project 4500 rubles. In July 8,1939, the church was consecrated in honour of Virgin Mary. The size of the stone building is 22x5 m, with two domes and a belfry. As for January 1, 1938, there were 142 churchgoers from nearby neighborhoods, and some would come from locations even 20 kilometers away.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Aizkalne Russian Orthodox Church, Aizkalne, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5305

Lat: 56.2007647, Lon: 26.7776278

Gallery:

Nīdermuiža Catholic Church

Nīdermuiža Catholic Church

The first church in Nīdermuiža was built of wood n 1748. In 1875 the church was expanded, and in 1892 - fully restored. In 1898 the church was destroyed in fire that came from a thurible, when a wind inflamed the coal in it. To have a place for church services, a wood chapel was built for the time until the new church is being constructed. It used to stand at the church fence in the apple tree garden, in front of the presbytery. The burned church was replaced by a new stone church in 1901 by dean Jāzeps Andžejevskis. The funds for the construction of the church were raised by the congregation and a few donators from Lithuania and Pēterpils. The church has a woodwork decorated large altar, that dean Andžejevskis bought from a closed church in Lithuania. Nidermuiža church is 16 meters long and 14 meters wide with several "navas", a concrete floor and a tin roof. In 1977 the roof and towers were painted with an oil paint. There is a fence around the church. At first the congregation was serviced by deans from Daugavpils. On April 22, 1727, the Polish king August approved the privileges of Daugavpils Catholic church regarding Nīdermuiža and gave and order for the Daugavpils congregation to build a new church in Nīdermuiža. Nīdermuiža church archive books have remained since 1744. Which means, that before 1748, Nīdermuiža had a church of a chapel. Later on the deans worked independently. Nīdermuiža church was not located in the centre of the congregation, but only 2 km from the border of Jasmuiža Catholic congregation, that is why the closest village inhabitants of Jasmuiža Catholic congregation in December 17, 1957, asked the Archbishop of Riga to add them to Nīdermuiža congregation. The motivation was the following - the distance to Jasmuiža church was 13 km, but to Nīdermuiža church - 2 km. The Archibshop Antonijs Springovičs confirmed their request and added 133 people from 6 villages to the congregation.

Contacts:

Nīdermuiža, Pelēči Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.1257017, Lon: 26.7113328

 

Gallery:

Roberts Mūks Museum in Galēni

Roberts Mūks Museum in Galēni

Address: 11c Skolas Street, Galēni, Preiļi Municipality, phone number +371 28445338 e-mail: rmmg@inbox.lv

Since 2000, up until his passing in 2006, Galēni Rural Territory and school had a good relationship with Roberts Mūks (Avens), a poet and religion historian, who was born here in 1923 and spent many years in exile. After his passing, a generous donation of his widow, Elza Avena, was received together with a message, to create a museum in Galēni for the philosopher and poet Roberts Mūks. The donation consists of memorial items of Mūks, his writings, part of his library, furniture, work desk, typing machine, pipe and tie collections, awards, art creations, photographs, letters, clothing, etc. Later, after moving to the USA, the widow Elza Avens added more items, by sending documents of Roberts Mūks: his passports, marriage and death certificates, the member card of Association of Writers, photographs, letters, memorabilia. At first, the gifts of Elza Avens were put in the small hall of Galēni Culture centre. On June 27, 2007, in 11c Skolas Street, a Memorial room of Roberts Mūks was opened. Roberts Mūks was buried in Galēni cemetery, and the residents of Galēni have taken on the responsibility to maintain the memorial place, that is why a “Galeni society of history and culture” was created and funds were being raised for the creation of R.Mūks grave memorial. The creation and installation of it was financially supported by PBLA and Riebiņi Municipality council. Nowadays everyone can view a grave memorial stone of the historian and poet, created by sculptor Māra Kalniņa in Galēni cemetery. The celebration of its installation was held on June 18, 2008. With the help of Galēni society of history and culture, the area was greened and his grave – maintained. The split cross in the brown boulder stone symbolizes the split life of the philosopher – home and exile, love – hate, looking for truth – lies, happiness – sadness, luck – unluck, life – death. Galēni has the house in which Roberts Mūks was born. In April 2001, a memorial plaque was put on it, that informs, that here on January 14, 1923, a poet and philosopher Roberts Mūks (Avens) was born. The creating and installation of the plaque was funded by PBLA, but the project was created by the 7th grade pupils of Galēni Elementary School. Because in Galēni there is the home of Roberts Mūks, his grave, a Memorial room with a wide array of memorabilia, a Roberts Mūks museum was opened on April 18, 2013, which was based on the items of the Memorial room. On May 8, 2014, the Ministry of Culture of Latvia gave the museum an accreditation certificate No.120 that explains, that the museum has been recognized by the state from May 8, 2014 till May 7, 2019. The mission of the museum is to popularize the heritage of Roberts Mūks, who had a very extraordinary character, to make the ordinary life of Latvian citizens more exciting and interesting. The exposition is created in a way to resemble how the surroundings of Roberts Mūks looked like during his life. Everyone can see how the remarkable philosopher worked and lived, and can feel his presence through his heritage. There in the museum are books that Roberts Mūks was reading, in which he gained inspiration for his own works and in which he was looking for affirmations of his thoughts and answers to his questions, and a desk by which he was working. There are his notes, writings, writing accessories, glasses and pipe set, tobacco bowl, and two owls – a glass and ceramic owl. Those have always been on his desk. In the shelves is stored the library of Roberts Mūks. Firstly, all of his works are found there: books and publications in Latvian and English. Secondly, books with autographs. Roberts Mūks was always loved by Latvian writers, poets, literature critics and philosophers. They always gave him their books with included special messages for Mūks. There are books of authors who lived in exile and those, who resided in Latvia. Take a look at the messages in the books to gain a new perspective of Latvian authors! Thirdly, there are lots of Latvian and foreign literature, philosophy, dictionaries and informative literature, special literature, folklore and religious publications. There are also manuscripts, both written by hand and by typewriter, lots of photos, that show the life of Roberts Mūks since childhood up until his passing. There we see the poet and philosopher in a family, together with his classmates, friends, relatives, authors, like-minded people. The photos show the most important moments of Mūks life. Here you can get acquinted with the letters written by Mūks, and ones he received. Many authors and poets wrote poems in honor of Mūks. The philosopher also collected articles from newspapers, where his publications, interviews, reviews and articles about him were written. Of course, it is important to tell about a drawing “Mūks “Elles ķēķī”” (“Mūks in the “Hell’s Kitchen””) by Fridrihs Milts. On a chocolate box with a pen a bohemian atmosphere in which Mūks often resided was drawn. This picture has always been in the office of the philosopher, by his awards. An exhibition in name of R.Mūks “Man vajadzīgi griesti, lai nekāptu debesīs (R.Mūks” (“I need a ceiling to not to step into the skies (R.Mūks)”). In this exhibition there were three parts, “In Latvia”, “In exhile” and “Back in Latvia”, that show the story of his life and opinions. A collection of his ties and pipes is shown there, as well as his awards (Triju Zvaigžņu (Three Star) Order, “Labā zvaigzne” (“Good Star”), a medal worked into glass, a candlestick), as well as other memorabilia: documents, notes, address book, typewriters, etc. Here one can see the passport of the Republic of Latvia, that was made and given to Roberts Avens Mūks in 1947 in Embassy of Latvia in London. On the walls there are diplomas of Roberts Mūks that state that he is a graduate of Brussels University, majoring in philosophy, in French language, Michigan and Fordham universities in English. The living room has a sofa, chairs, two coffee tables and a nightshade of Roberts Mūks, there is artwork on the walls, wall décor and Latgallian pottery. The Latvian ornaments in wall decors, on the pillows, on the blankets, pots, and a certain color scheme that is visible in all items - all of this shows the importance of his Latvian origins for Mūks.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Skolas Street 11c, Galēni, Preiļi Municipality
rmmg@inbox.lv
Phone: +371 25625621

Lat: 56.4752274, Lon: 26.8435269

Gallery:

Old vehicle collection in Silajāņi

Old vehicle collection in Silajāņi

Go from Preiļi to Riebiņi (7km), then you have to look for a sign to Siljāņi (there you will see the mud road mentioned before). When in Siljāņi, once you cross a river Feimanka, look at the right side of the road for old buses and garages. If the road is dry and it has been sunny the whole week, you can drive in surely, but if the road is wet or it has been raining for a few days, better leave the car on the side of the road and take a walk to the garages on foot.

For collection owners, brothers Viktors and Oļegs Boļšakovi, their collection is a hobby for more than 20 years. All of the cars have been restored to a working condition and you can choose any car to take for a ride. There is a lot to see! Younger generations, probably, won't have even heard of these vehicles, not talking about seeing or touching them. Nostalgic memories take over when you look at the first TV sets, radios, typewriters and many other things, that describe a certain period in our history. Many devices are like new - they haven’t been taken out of their boxes and haven't been used once. One of those things is an army radio - just take it out of it's packaging and be the first one to ever use it! Viktors and Oļegs have a story about  every car, motorcycle and household item. 

 

 

Sometimes we don't know or don't remember the use of certain items, but the owners of the collection know all that and their stories will leave you surprised! If you have the time and interest, definitely take a trip to look and hear their stories. If you wish, you can have the opportunity to stay over in well-maintained buses and fish in a pond. From Riebiņi to Siljāņi there is a mud road.

 

 

How to find us: Kalna Street, Siljāņi, Siljāņi Rural Territory, Riebiņi Municipality, phone number: +371 27792924 (Viktors); bolsakovsviktors@inbox.lv .

 

 

Contacts:

Kalna Street, Silajāņi, Riebiņi Municipality
Phone: +371 27792924
bolsakovsviktors@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.3351395, Lon: 26.9491226

Gallery:

Miniature kingdom and dollhouse

Miniature kingdom and dollhouse

Here you can take a look at the result of a fantasy of artist Jeļena Mihailova and her hand work. In the yard of the house you can view two miniature castles with gorgeous bridges, towers and watermills. Visitors gladly take photos on the background of the castles. To make things more romantic, Jeļena, with the help of her team, created handmade costumes of the particular era for adults and kids.

The yard of the house is completed with many antique elements. In the dollhouse, a splendid fairytale and imagination world opens up, one, in which the main characters are the dolls, that were hand-made by the artist. The spectr of compositions is wide; the artist has created her world in great detail.

 

 

Contacts:

Daugavpils Street 21, Preiļi, LV-5301
Phone: +371 26423837
www.lenadoll.com
www.lellukaralvalsts.lv
With previous arrangement!

Lat: 56.2920290, Lon: 26.7248134

Gallery:

Museum of history and applied arts of Preiļi

Museum of history and applied arts of Preiļi

The mission of the museum is to promote the material and immaterial values of previous generations of local residents and creations of our time, by giving the possibility to get acquainted with a variety of collections, expositions, exhibitions and educational and informative events. The museum has over 20 thousand historical items, that reflect the development of local culture, education and economy, as well as the impact of remarkable local residents in the history of Preiļi municipality and the history of Latvia. The main collection holds pottery of Polikarps Čerņavskis and works of Preiļi ceramists, as well as visual art, textiles, ethnographic objects, photos, documents, Latgallian artists paintings and graphics.

Working hours:
Monday – closed
Tuesday – friday from 11:00 to 18:00
Saturday - Sunday – from 12:00  to 18:00

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Rainis boulevard 28, Preiļi, Preiļi Municipality LV-5301

Phone: +371 65322731, 26056076
www.preili.lv
e-mail: muzejs@preili.lv

Lat: 56.2894974, Lon: 26.7257417

Gallery:

Rainis Museum "Jasmuiža"

Rainis Museum "Jasmuiža"

The museum of Rainis is located in the middle of Latgale, in a quiet country corner, by the shore of the tiny river Jaša. The museum is located in three reconstructed and renovated buildings of Jasmuiža manor. The fourth building of the museum is the workshop of Andrejs Paulāns, a well-known craftsman of pottery in Latgale, that was reconstructed in the 1999. The museum buildings together with the open-air stage and over 5 ha of territory and park is a state-level historical monument. 

The museum first opened its doors in August 16, 1964. In the midst of other museums that are devoted to Rainis, “Jasmuiža” is well known as the museum devoted to the youth days of the poet. Here from the 1883 till 1891 the future poet spent his gymnasium and university holidays, because, at that time, the manor was rented and managed by the father of Rainis, Krišjānis Pliekšāns.

"Jasmuiža” is also museum that is devoted to youthful romance and love, because right in Jasmuiža Rainis experienced his first romantic feelings. The object of these feelings was a maid named Tekla. She was often mentioned in his dairy, for example: “Teklīte came into the room looking so lovely, so seductive, and I did nothing. I regret, that I did nothing with Tekla, only dreamt of her, when she was gone".

The museum of Rainis “Jasmuiža” offers an exposition on poet’s gymnasium and university years in the reconstructed building that belonged to the steward. More than 30 years ago an exhibition hall was made in the renovated cow pasture, now there is an extensive Latgalian pottery exposition with more than 200 items of ceramists' hand-made tableware and decorative creations. In the workshop of Andrejs Paulāns, get acquainted with the environment in which Latgalian ceramists lived and worked in the late-19th century and early 20th century.

The museum holds events when opening up for a new season, kiln firing and opening events, and yearly Poetry day events.

P.S. There are two bridges in the territory of the museum. If you make a wish while you're passing them, the wishes will definitely come true. Use the large swings to rock your yourselves, kids or other loved ones.

 

Permanent services: Exposition “Rainis gymnasium and university years”, exhibition “Latgalian ceramics”, a ceramics workshop of Andrejs Paulāns, video chronicles “Jasmuiža”, video chronicles of „Kōzys Jōsmuižā” performance (2005), a special program for newlyweds and their wedding guests.

The pedagogical program: Rainis and nature, herbal teas (2nd – 9th grade), Rainis and Latgalian folklore, Latgalian language (4th – 12th grade), Making cheese and beating butter - milk day in Jasmuiža (for all age groups), interactive karaoke program “Latgalian wedding traditions, wedding and caricature songs” (for all age groups), degustation of herbal teas on the porch of the museum.

Contacts:

Aizkalne, Aizkalne Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5305
Phone: +371 65329313, 29487589
jasmuiza@memorialiemuzeji.lv

Lat: 56.2022475, Lon: 26.7857574

Gallery:

Collection of antiques of Igors Pličs

Collection of antiques of Igors Pličs

In the yard of the house you can view the smallest chapel in Latvia, the maximum capacity of which is 10 persons.

Contacts:

Rainis boulevard 9, Preiļi, LV-5301
Phone: +371 29121689, +371 65307075

Lat: 56.2920782, Lon: 26.7266594

Gallery:

MOTO & METAL NESTER CUSTOM ART GALLERY

MOTO & METAL NESTER CUSTOM ART GALLERY

Moto & Metal NESTER CUSTOM art gallery an entertainment complex, that places in itself the skillfully created display halls with authorial custom bikes and articles of art as sculptures from metal. The stylish, small, original cafe will surprise you with desserts and baking. On the verandah of the gallery will be possible to smoke hookahs. Adrenalin lovers will be able to test a WILLEY machine (trainer for a ride on the back wheel of the motorcycle). Photographer of the gallery will do for you professional and unique photos - that will inspire and make you happy.

When you visit the exhibition halls, you will get a lot of positive emotions and recharge your batteries with positive energy from the atmosphere and exhibits of our gallery.

 

We are open each day from 10 am to 7 pm.

Entrance ticket price:

for adults 5 euros

for children under 6 years free

for children from 6 to 15 years old 2.50 euro

for teenagers from 15 to 18 years old 3.50 euros

pensioners 3.50 euros

students 3.50 euros

to bikers and companions who arrived on a motorcycle 3.50 euros

Contacts:

A.Upīša Street 20,Preiļi

https://www.nester-custom.com/

e-mail:  nester.custom@gmail.com

Facebook: nester custom

Phone:  +371 2 947 84 83

Gallery:

Leisure complex "Silmalas"

Leisure complex "Silmalas"

• "Silmalas" offers accommodation for up to 70 persons;

• We provide catering services;

• We offer tent rental services for events - a 200 m2 tent with wooden floor, tables and chairs;

• Silmalas" has a well-organized area for sports, culture events and weddings;

• Sports fields include: 2 beach volleyball fields, 1 street ball field;

• Obstacle track;

• Children’s playground;

• A well-maintained beach;

• Many sites for tents;

• Rowing boats for rent;

• Rides on a motorboat around Rušona lake;

• Commercial fishing pond;

• Bath house;

• Ski rental during winter period.

We are open for customers throughout the year. Prices for our services are arranged by an agreement. 

Address: Siveriņa, Rušona Rural Territory, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329 Phone number: +371 29101378, 

+371 22830104 e-mail: zalaneanna@inbox.lv WEB page: www.atputalatgale.lv/

Contacts:

Siveriņa, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329

Mob. phone: +371 29101378, +371 22830104

E-mail: zalaneanna@inbox.lv

WEB page: www.atputalatgale.lv/

Lat: 56.2017233, Lon: 26.9980094

Gallery:

Home-made cheese tasting in farm "Juri"

Home-made cheese tasting in farm "Juri"

Inform about your visit beforehand, via phone!

Biological farm "Juri" invites you to taste, see the making of and buy original Latgallian home-made cheese that is being praised even by Mārtiņš Rītiņš, executive chef and director of a renowned restaurant, "Vincents"!

Working hours: throughout the year, informing the owner about your visit beforehand.

The farm offers: cheese tasting, camping, a wide variety of delicacies that can be bought, and getting to know domestic animals.

History of the place and origins of the produce:

The origins of farm "Juri" can be traced back to 1930's, when the grandfather of the current owner, Juris Lubāns, built a house in this location and began creating his farm. The current owners - Juris and Lidija - used to live and work in the city, but soon understood that city life is not to their taste. In 1990's they moved back to Riebiņi municipality and began working in the farm. To live, it wasn't enough with traditional farming, so they took on cheese-making. As time went, their cheese was more and more complimented on by their relatives and neighbours, and now the makers of traditional Latgallian cheese have developed a circle of loyal clients. Due to large interest from tourists, the owners are currently remaking the farm for the needs of cheese dairy and to offer guest house services. They are actively working towards making the stay for the visitors a great experience.

More about the product and activities:

Farm "Juri" makes cheese from a biological milk that is being given by ten cows. They make the cheese with their own hands. When in the farm, the hospitable owners will tell you about the cheese making traditions. They will shed light on the recipes that come from not only masterful cheese makers, but recipes that come from cookbooks of 1940's Latvia, and recipes that they have created themselves. The owners will offer you tea or coffee that you'll drink from dishes that have been made by Latgallian potters, and, of course, will offer you to taste a large variety of cheeses. Firstly the Midsummer cheese with cumin or greens (whichever you like best), then the soft Mozzarella and fresh Ricotta cheeses, that are being praised by cheese experts. The lovely atmosphere of the farm "Juri", the friendly and hospitable owners and farm delicacies - buttermilk, whey, curdled milk and home made butter, that you can ask to try out, creates a lovely feeling of calmness that you'll want to enjoy again and again, not paying attention to the ticking clock.

Don't miss it out! When in Latgale, you must try out the original Latgallian cheese, that takes 2-3 days to make, and you need to try out other simple, hand made delicacies that were created by the owners.

Other activities

Here, like in every respectable farm, you can not only try out local delicacies and buy them, but enjoy the fresh air and together with the family cuddle  domestic animals and take a look at their feedlot. If you get carried away by the scenery and atmosphere, don't worry - you can stay over in a tent! 
More information: www.gardumuti.lv/vietas/saimniecibas-juri-latgales-siers.html 

 

 

Contacts:

Biological farm "Juri"
Lubāni, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality.

Phone: + 371 29182355

E-mail: zsjuri@gmail.com

Lat: 56.1936192, Lon: 26.9471855

Gallery:

Helix farm

Helix farm

Helix farm „Ošu mājas”
Very near to Preiļi, approximately 500 m behind town’s border towards Daugavpils, is situated a farm “Ošu mājas”, whose owners are occupied with rather non-traditional, to Latgale non-characteristic and modern agricultural production – helix farming. We offer: A visit to the snail farm, which includes an in-depth narrative and vision of snail life, physiology, processing and recycling, as well as a tasting of snail meat, made with original local recipes, complemented by Latvian drinks - self-made birch juice and mint tea.

Contacts:

"Ošu mājas", Jaunsaimnieki, Preiļi Parish, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 29443577, +371 26404977
e-mail: ainisn@inbox.lv
The contact persons: Ainis Noviks, Valentīna Novika


Working hours: May 15th - October 15th; pre-registration required!

Lat: 56.2691825, Lon: 26.7189637

Gallery:

Beekeeping training apiary "Kāres"

Beekeeping training apiary "Kāres"

games and training about beekeeping and life of bees. A special programme has been created for pupils. While walking through the educational and informative nature path you'll be offered to taste home-made honey

Pre-arrangment of the visit - obligatory!

 

 

Contacts:

Pīnupi, Jāņi, Pelēči Parish, Preiļi Municipality.
Phone: +371 28237502

Lat: 56.1623260, Lon: 26.7707453

Gallery:

RTRI Technical college

RTRI Technical college

Preiļi department of Riga Tourism and Creative Industry technical college, 1 Sporta Street, offers Cheddar cheese soup, cheese cakes, coffee and tea. Great deals are offered for pupils, vegetarians, gourmands, etc. Services are offered by prior arrangement.

Contacts:

Announce oneself by phone: +371 27752469

Lat: 56.2901540, Lon: 26.7305666

Gallery:

"Pampūkas"

"Pampūkas"

Offers 100% natural home-made ice cream with a variety of berries and a specialty - Preiļi cheese "Cheddar" ice cream! In the cafe, you can replenish your energy with a freshly made lemonade and tasty, baked on the spot "pampūkas", right for you! We use only the highest quality ingredients for the dough and filling of our "pampūkas"! 

 

 

The cafe is open from June till October. 

 

 

Contacts:

Daugavpils Street 53A, Preiļi

Phone: +371  27794042
www.pampukas.lv
It is possible to apply for a degustation of  Preiļi cheese "Cheddar" ice cream!

Lat: 56.2865669, Lon: 26.7249941

Gallery:

Bebri tincture

Bebri tincture

Contacts:

Gallery:

Biological farm Vilkači

Biological farm Vilkači

The main fields of activities: fruit and berry-growing, vegetable-growing, grain cultivation, quince plant and blackcurrant nursery. Our production you can purchase at 6 bio shops in different cities in Latvia: Riga, Adaži, Rezekne and Lielvarde.

We are producing the following bio products:

  • apple, pear and quince plant candies;
  • syrups made from blackcurrants, mint and quince plant;
  • fruit and berries jams;
  • fresh and dried spices;
  • herbal teas;
  • vegetable crispbread;
  • 16 varieties of beans;
  • fresh blackcurrant, raspberries, strawberries, quince plant, pears, sea buckthorn, dewberries and vegetables;
  • dried blackcurrants and dewberries;
  • dried pears, apples etc.;
  • fruits and berries rolls

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

"Cepernieki", Stabulnieki Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Phone: +371 26782991;

e-mail: skaidritegrigale@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.4124123, Lon: 26.8155897

Gallery:

Miniature kingdom and dollhouse

Miniature kingdom and dollhouse

Here you can take a look at the result of a fantasy of artist Jeļena Mihailova and her hand work. In the yard of the house you can view two miniature castles with gorgeous bridges, towers and watermills. Visitors gladly take photos on the background of the castles. To make things more romantic, Jeļena, with the help of her team, created handmade costumes of the particular era for adults and kids.

The yard of the house is completed with many antique elements. In the dollhouse, a splendid fairytale and imagination world opens up, one, in which the main characters are the dolls, that were hand-made by the artist. The spectre of compositions is wide; the artist has created her world in great detail.

EUR 2.

 

 

Contacts:

Daugavpils Street 21, Preiļi, LV-5301
Phone: +371 65321737, +371 26423837
www.vladlenadoll.com
www.lellukaralvalsts.lv

lenalisa@inbox.lv 
 

Lat: 56.2920290, Lon: 26.7248134

Gallery:

Woodworking workshop "Sapņu namiņš"

Woodworking workshop "Sapņu namiņš"

In 2000, the craftsman created his own "Sapņu namiņš" ( in English - Dream house) in which he has put a collection of his own made wood creations. "Sapņu namiņš" exposition since its very beginning is a part of Preiļi Municipality sightseeing object list for tourists. Later the craftsman widened his services and for many years now tourists, pupils and others who are interested can come and see the woord turning process in woodworking. The craftsman's creations and working process has been seen by many tourists from Latvia and closer and further European, Asian and South and North American countries. Staņislavs Geida is a member of Preiļi Municipality Craftsmen association from the very beginning of his craftsman career. With his creations - candlesticks, boxes, goblets, decors of different sort has taken part in exhibitions "Krēsls - 96" in Imanta, days of Preiļi district and Preiļi municipality in Riga, exhibition of Latvian craftsmen in "Rīga - 800". Every year, Staņislavs Geida takes part in local craftsmen exhibitions and fairs in Latgale municipalities and other parts of Latvia. Together with other craftsmen in Preiļi municipality, Staņislavs Geida was a part of experience exchange program in a craftsman fair in Hamburg, Germany. The craftsman has taken part in projects of Preiļi municipality related to development of craftsmanship in Latgale and Latvia. The activities of S.Geida have been often described in press, radio and TV.

Contacts:

"Cerības", Aizkalne, Aizkalne Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5305
Phone: +371 20261490 (Lilija)
maija.paegle@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.1958512, Lon: 26.7911582

Gallery:

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

in which one can follow the development of the ceramist beginning the creation of simple everyday dishes to distinct and complex forms of decorative ceramics, enjoy the craftsman's color palette and the diversity of ornaments. The ceramists offer the visitors:


  • to watch how a ceramist creates a vase on a lathe;

  • to try out bowl turning and creating (you can take your creation with you or receive it via mail later, once it's been fired);

  • tours for pupils, team games about household dishes and getting to know Latgallian names of them;

  • a special program is developed for events (weddings, anniversaries, etc);

  • you can buy creations of the ceramists;

  • you can order a special item that will be either given to you personally or sent via courier mail;

  • spend time in an exciting way with your family and friends!

Potter Jāzeps Caics and potter Raivo Andersons, who teaches master classes, leads tours, is a good storyteller, will help every visitor to learn to stick it out of clay, work in the pottery house everu day. After firing, it is also possible to receive the work by post - as a nice memory of visiting Preili!

 

 

Contacts:

Talsu Street 21, Preiļi
Phone: +371 29429630; +371 29879412
Pre-registration desirable!
www.preilukeramika.viss.lv

cencers@inbox.lv 

Lat: 56.2913233, Lon: 26.7153636

Gallery:

Collection of antiques of L.Ivbulis

Collection of antiques of L.Ivbulis

Collection of antiques of L.Ivbulis can be viewed in Sauna Rural Territory. Please, inform about your visit beforehand.

Contacts:

Prīkuļi, Sauna Parish, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 29545184

Lat: 56.3598577, Lon: 26.6000477

Gallery:

Craftsman Valērijs Jurkāns

Craftsman Valērijs Jurkāns

Craftsman makes souvenirs of wood on request.

Dressers, wooden beds, stools, tables, souvenirs. Craftsman make everythinп.

Contacts:

Skolas Street 4, Silajāņi, Preiļi Municipality.

Phone: +371 26364435 (Valērijs), +371 26480852 (Inga)

jurkaans13@inbox.lv; 

inga_jurkane@inbox.lv

Gallery:

Ceramic Workshop "Jašas podi"

Ceramic Workshop "Jašas podi"

Offer:

* workshop insights and demonstrations;

* An interactive story about the history of ceramics and contemporary trends;

* the opportunity to participate in the dish making process;

* souvenir production;

* offsite workshop groups.

For purchase: ceramic tableware, jewelry, cake stands, bowls, jugs and home decor from white, brown and especially black and sharp clay. www.jasaspodi.com

Visit with prior application!

Contacts:

Aizkalne Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV 5305

Phone: +371 29175252
E - mail: knicmane@gmail.com

www.jasaspodi.com 

 

Lat: 56.2184246, Lon: 26.7831618

Gallery:

MOTO & METAL NESTER CUSTOM ART GALLERY

MOTO & METAL NESTER CUSTOM ART GALLERY

That places in itself the skilfully created display halls with authorial custom bikes and articles of art as sculptures from metal. The stylish, small, original cafe will surprise you with desserts and baking. On the verandah of the gallery will be possible to smoke hookahs. Adrenalin lovers will be able to test a WILLEY machine (trainer for a ride on the back wheel of the motorcycle). Photographer of the gallery will do for you professional and unique photos - that will inspire and make you happy.

Contacts:

A.Upīša Street 20,Preiļi

Phone: +371 2 947 84 83

https://www.nester-custom.com/

nester.custom@gmail.com

Facebook: nester custom

 

Gallery:

Porcelain workshop "Piece of Touch"

Porcelain workshop "Piece of Touch"

After studying in Riga, at the Latvian Academy of Arts, Sintija returned to Preili, the city where she was born and spent her childhood. With the support of a friend, family and project, a pottery workshop - "Piece Of Touch" - was created with the idea, that each work created is a small part of the potter, who continues to live in new places, telling for the joy of creation and making everyday life more beautiful.

Mostly Sintija works with porcelain, she likes the lightness, transparency and finesse of the material. Families and larger groups can visit the workshop and learn more about the variety of work processes and materials, as well as apply for a master class and create their own unique ceramic dish or décor.

The workshop also has a shop for porcelain and other pottery.

 

Contacts:

Jaunā Street 8, Preiļi, Preiļi Municipality

Phone: +371 25729888

GPS: Lat: 56.292309, Lon: 26.732719
e-mail: pieceoftouch@gmail.com
FB / Instagram - Piece Of Touch

 

 

 

Gallery:

Metalworking of Ainars Lacis

Metalworking of Ainars Lacis

By previous order! 

Contacts:

“Lācīši”, Kokorieši, Riebiņi Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5326

Phone: +371 26092820,

E-mail: audiainars@inbox.lv

 

Gallery:

AIKO WOODWORKS

AIKO WOODWORKS

 

Wooden medals, various awards will be a great addition for events and sport competitions. Wooden accessories will create special mood for home interior.

Each order is individual!

 

Contacts:

Gallery:

Leisure complex "Silmalas"

Leisure complex "Silmalas"

• "Silmalas" offers accommodation for up to 70 persons;

• We provide catering services;

• We offer tent rental services for events - a 200 m2 tent with wooden floor, tables and chairs;

• "Silmalas" has a well-organized area for sports, culture events and weddings;

• Sports fields include: 2 beach volleyball fields, 1 street ball field;

• Obstacle track;

• Children’s playground;

• A well-maintained beach;

• Many sites for tents;

• Rowing boats for rent;

• Rides on a motorboat around Rušona lake;

• Commercial fishing pond;

• Bath house;

• Ski rental during winter period.

We are open for customers throughout the year. Prices for our services are arranged by an agreement. 

Address: Siveriņa, Rušona Rural Territory. Riebiņi Municipality, LV5329 Phone number. 29101378,  22830104 e-mail: zalaneanna@inbox.lv WEB page: www.atputalatgale.lv/

Contacts:

Siveriņa, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329

Mob. phone: +371 29101378, +371 22830104

E-mail: zalaneanna@inbox.lv

WEB page: www.atputalatgale.lv/

Lat: 56.2017233, Lon: 26.9980094

Gallery:

"Bašķi" water skiing base

"Bašķi" water skiing base

Water ski base "Bašķi" offers to enjoy various activities on the water in Lake Eikša.

A unique opportunity to go water skiing under the supervision of a coach (for a fee). Springboarding - for water skiing fans. We offer opportunities for organizing camps, events, sports games.

Number of places in accommodation: 25

Tent places: 20

Catamarans, pedal boats, SUP boards, boats, motorboat are available FREE OF CHARGE (weekdays from 12-20: 00; holidays from 10-20: 00).

Motor boat trips (5 pers.) Must be booked in advance at the municipality, tel. 65392891. Fuel expenses are covered by the customer. You must bring an identity document.

Contacts:

Bašķi, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329
Phone: +371 26489663
diana.vucane@inbox.lv
 

Lat: 56.1940080, Lon: 26.8831868

Gallery:

SIA "Dēkaiņi" boat rental and routes

SIA "Dēkaiņi" boat rental and routes

Our services are geared towards tourists who are water activity and bicycle enthusiasts. We offer rental of inventory and individual route creation, taking into account the needs and wishes of out clients. We actively work towards creating new bicycle and water tourism routes. Our mission is to popularize the wide possibilities in Latgale regarding active tourism, to make our potential clients interested in visiting and enjoying their stay in Latgale. We see lots of potential in our region!

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Phone:
+371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:
dekaini@inbox.lv
www.dekaini.lv

Lat: 56.2929176, Lon: 26.7305570 

Gallery:

Leisure base "Zolva"

Leisure base "Zolva"

Great vacation on the shore of Zolva lake. Boats, fishing, bath house, swimming, fireplace and banquet hall. A great place to organize culture and sports events or camps!
Accommodation for 50 persons.

Contacts:

Zolva, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329
Phone: +371 29276342, +371 26441803
zolva@axel.lv

Lat: 56.2220668, Lon: 26.9915330

Gallery:

Lake Rušons

Lake Rušons

Lake Rušons is  23,7 square kilometers large, 13.10 kilometers in length, 5.6 kilometers wide and at its deepest - 29.9 meters deep. The lake is rich in bights and demi-islands, islands (ten) and capes. In Upursala (Sacrifical Island) one can find a historical monument - pagan cult location, Upurkalns (Sacrifical Mountain), but on Govsaliņa - an ancient latgallian settlement. There have been made very interesting findings around the lakem for example, arab coins. On the Eastern shore one can see the Rušona St.Michael Catholic church (1816) and 18th Dominical congregation building. The shores of the lake are rich in bights, which creates a very picturesque view. 

The islands are a territory of Natura 2000.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Lake Rušons, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.1999177, Lon: 26.9939274

Gallery:

Sacrificial stone of Upursala

Sacrificial stone of Upursala

In the central part of Upursala (in English - Sacrificial island) is a swelling on the highest place of which is located a stone, that even today is called Upurakmens (in English - Sacrificial stone). According to a legend, the stone used to have carved writings and that lambs were sacrificed on it. Nowadays no carvings are visible. The Sacrificial stone is 1,2 m high and 5,5 m wide (on the ground). The upside of the stone is crumbled, possibly on purpose, the stone itself is coarse-grained. Fires were burned near the stone and on it - the crumbling and stone shards found around the stone indicate it. During archeological research, it was discovered, that nearby the Sacrifical stone were two shallow holes, in one of which were found half-burnt pine barks. During the excavation there were no antiques found that could possibly indicate the time period that Sacrificial stone was used. The items found nearby were of different time periods. Right now it is assumed, that Sacrifical stone was used as place of worship for local Kristapiņi, Liepu island, Mazie mucenieki and Kurtoša settlement inhabitants, and inhabitants of other ancient settlements.  Upursala is located in the West side of Rušona lake, approximately 1,5 km from the Western shore, where Kristapiņu ancient burial place (8. - 13.century) can be found. The ancient burial place was nearby an even older settlement. Certain ancient items indicate, that the place was inhabited at the end of 1000 B.C., in the beginning of our era. Between Upursala and Kristapiņi ancient burial place stands Liepu island (in English - Linden island). In newspapers in 1936 it was stated, that near Liepu island, in the lake, paling of a very ancient building was found. In 1964 a hydroarcheological expedition, led by J.Apals, discovered that the wood constructions belong to a medieval building. In the few past years some chippings of ancient dishes were found on Liepu island. It could indicate, that people inhabited the island as well. The Northern shore of Rušona lake is closer to Upursala, because near the Mazo Mucenieku village a cape runs into the lake. A cultural layer has been discovered on the cape. Antiquities from medieval times have been found near Rušona manor too. 
Approximately one kilometer North of Rušona lake is located the Kurtoša castle mound. From old times it has been cultivated and has lost its original appearance. All the shores of Rušona lake have been inhabited by people since old ancient times. 

 

 

Contacts:

Lielā (Upursala) sala in lake Rušons
Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Lat: 56.1824815, Lon: 26.9987800

Gallery:

Preiļi park beach

Preiļi park beach

During the active sports season, enjoy the weather in the Preiļi park territory, where beach volleyball and football courts, a well-maintained beach with a kids playground, changing cabins and toilets are available. Boat and water bicycle rental. The only BMX track of Latgale is open in the Preiļi park territory. Try out the delicacies of local manufacturers in the terrace cafe "Pampūkas" that can be found nearby.

Active tourism equipment is available on the beach free of charge: SUP boards, catamarans, water balls, vests, boat, outdoor table tennis equipment, beach badminton equipment, tennis rackets and balls, beach soccer and volleyball balls, beach wheelchairs for people with disabilities. Active tourism equipment is available on Preili beach with the duty officer during the summer season from May 1 to September 30 every day from 10 am to 10 pm (depending on the weather). It is also possible to book it for a certain time by writing in advance to the e-mail preilubjss@preili.lv or by calling 26549536 (Edgars).

Active leisure equipment has been purchased within the framework of the Latvian-Lithuanian cross-border cooperation program project LLI-349 "Learn Eco Travel".

SUP boards for rent (fees): 1) +371 25625701, Jānis

                                            2) +371 25541599, Jānis

Water ball rental (fees): +371 25541599, Jānis

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Preiļi park beach, Daugavpils street 53, Preiļi.

Booking by writing to e-mail preilubjss@preili.lv or by calling 26549536 (Edgars).

Lat: 56.2865669, Lon: 26.7249941

Gallery:

SUP boards rental

SUP boards rental

There are 2 rental options available:

1. Rent a day in the Latgale region, you can rent it on site - in Preili. The rent for one board is 30 EUR if you rent three boards, then 25 EUR for each.

2. From 1h to several hours on the spot in Preili. Rental fee for 1h - 5 EUR, each next hour +3EUR.

Reservation phone: +37125625701, Janis.

Contacts:

Reservation phone: +37125625701, Janis

Gallery:

Fishing guide around Latgale

Fishing guide around Latgale

Although Preiļi region is not rich in lakes, passionate anglers live here. A young local guy Rainers, who has been fishing since birth and now spends almost all of his free time by the water, had the idea to offer the service of a fishing guide on the lakes and rivers of Latgale. It is an opportunity to learn fishing for those who do not know where to start, or for already knowledgeable anglers to discover new fishing places in Latgale accompanied by a guide-instructor. Soon you will also be offered all the necessary equipment so that you can come and enjoy this process without thinking about anything ...

Contacts:

Guide's phone number: +371 28179580. (Preiļi)

 

Gallery:

Motorboat trips

Motorboat trips

A motorboat (5 pers.) for trips in the waters of Riebiņi county is available by prior reservation. Fuel costs are covered by the customer.

You must bring an identity document!

Inventory usage rules, patronage agreement and other information are available here: http://riebini.lv/lv/jaunumi/get/nid/3805

Water tourism equipment purchased in project no. LLI - 349 “Development of ecotourism in Latvia and Lithuania using water resources” (“Learn Eco Travel”), within the framework of Interreg V - A Latvia - Lithuania program for 2014-2020.

Contacts:

Available by booking by phone. +371 65392891.

Gallery:

Horse farm "Trīs vītolu staļļi"

Horse farm "Trīs vītolu staļļi"

The herd consists of specially bred horses. In Riebiņi, horses spend time from birth till they turn 2 years old. Every day the horses are taken out in the pasture for them to run around, play and enjoy fresh air. The horses get used to people and learn basic norms of behavior. They enjoy playing around, having fun in the snow and swimming. Ltd "Trīs vītolu staļļi" (in English - "Three willow stables") name originates from the fact, that nearby the stables there is a large willow and two other willows were planted in an equal distance from it. When they grow up, several generations of horses will have grown up in Riebiņi. 

Horses are available for concours d'elegance and for dressage, fillies and colts. The mares are being coupled with imported stallions, and locally grown stallions, that have been recognized by Latvian Horse keeper Association. There is a possibility to artificially couple mares with German stallions from catalogues. The horse farm works with creating and developing a gene pool of Latvian horses. The horse farm offers mare coupling naturally and artificially. The horse farm also offers a one - hour long seminar in which they share their experience about horse breeding.

 

 

Address: 18 Skolas Street, Riebiņi, Riebiņi Municipality, LV-5326, Phone number: +371 29112796, 26339388, 65356807 3vitolu@inbox.lv

 

 

Contacts:

Skolas Street 18, Riebiņi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5326

Phone: +371 29112796, +371 26339388, +371 65356807

e-mail: 3vitolu@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.3345561, Lon: 26.8005189

Gallery:

SIA "Dēkaiņi" bicycle rental and routes

SIA "Dēkaiņi" bicycle rental and routes

Our services are geared towards tourists who are water activity and bicycle enthusiasts. We offer rental of inventory and individual route creation, taking into account the needs and wishes of out clients. We active work towards creating new bicycle and water tourism routes. Our mission is to popularize the wide possibilities in Latgale regarding active tourism, to make our potential clients interested in visiting and enjoying their stay in Latgale. We see lots of potential in our region!

Contacts:

Phone: +371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:dekaini@inbox.lv


www.dekaini.lv

Lat: 56.2929176, Lon: 26.7305570 

Gallery:

Bicycle rental in Riebiņi

Bicycle rental in Riebiņi

Bicycle rental in Riebiņi, in Riebiņi Youth centre "Pakāpieni".

Contacts:

Viļānu Street 1, Riebiņi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5326
Phone: +371 65392659, +371 20345584

Lat: 56.3411325, Lon: 26.7997983

Gallery:

Bike tour - around Preiļi

Bike tour - around Preiļi

The pros of this bike tour is that none of the destination points exceed 13 km from the centre of Preiļi. That means, in case of sudden bad weather, technical problems, health issues or kids who suddenly are in a bad mood, the trip back to the centre of Preiļi will be only13 km long. The roads around Preiļi are banched and that allows to choose the most pleasant route and suitable length, with a possibility to get back to Preiļi very soon.

Preiļi-Saltupe Street-Jaunsaimnieki-Plivdas-Anspoki- 5,1km

Anspoki-Litavnieki-Kankuļi-Ludvigova-Gailīši (Gaiļmuiža)- 12,2km

Gailīši (Gaiļmuiža)-Šņitkina-Tiša-Gailīši (Gaiļmuiža)- 7,1km

Gailīši (Gaiļmuiža)-Pīzāni-Kozuļi-Novini-Lielais Ostrovas lake .-9,7km

Lielais Ostrovas lake.-Novini-Skangeļi-Riebiņi-Riebiņi manor (open-air stage)-7,9km

Riebiņi manor (open-air stage)-Stefanapole-Medvednieki-Pieniņi-7,6km

Pieniņi-Kalnacki-Kokorieši-Moskvina- 10,6km

Moskvina-Šķilteri-Vaivodi-Preiļi-10,3km

 

TOTAL LENGTH-70.5km

In the route, asphalt coverage is for 11.7 km of the road, gravel coverage - for 30.3 km and an improved earth road is 17.3 km long, and 4.2km long earth road that is difficult to pass. The earth road is difficult to pass for cars, but there are no issues for bicycles. Mostly these roads are in meadows and pasturelands, where there are cars ruts or paths. The terrain is mostly flat. The most ascending and descending takes place from Preiļi to Riebiņi. On rainy days or after incessant rain, the ground roads, thanks to Latgallian clay, can be slippery and muddy. During dry weather, on the gravel roads a sharp descend (trepe) can develop, especially in the stage Pieniņi-Moskvina and Šķilteri-Preiļi. People who are familiar with excercising will be able to finish the route in a day. Others can choose to finish certain stages, taking into account their physical possibilities.

Shopping should be planned in Preiļi, Gailīši (Gaiļmuiža), Riebiņi or Pieniņi. Public catering services are available in Preiļi or Riebiņi (from 8.00-17.00, week days) More information about the route. www.dekaini.l

Contacts:

Phone: +371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:
dekaini@inbox.lv
www.dekaini.lv

Gallery:

Bike tour Aizkalne-Rušons-Preiļi

Bike tour Aizkalne-Rušons-Preiļi

Active cyclists can finish the route in a day. More laid-back cyclists can break it up in a two day trip, stay over in a leisure base “Silmalas”. This route can be combined with route No.4 or route No.5. If active cyclists wish to have a two day trip, we suggest you suggest you to combine this route with the first variant of route No.4. In that case you’ll be able to fully enjoy the diversity of nature in Latgale and it’s historical and cultural heritage.

In this route you’ll be able to see 8 lakes, also the eight largest lake in Latvia – Rušons, 4 castle mounds, 4 churches, 2 memorial places of remarkable Latvian military commanders, the places Rainis spent his youth in and other interesting objects and locations.

Aizkalne-Kastīre- 7,6 km

Kastīre-Gelenova-Šaures- 6,0 km

Šaures-Rušona-Sīveriņa- 8,4 km

Sīveriņa-Rušenīca castle mound-Rušenīca-Krupeniški-Ondzuļi-11,7 km

Ondzuļi-Kategrade-Sedeži-Stupāni-Ludvigova-9,1 km

Ludvigova-Kankuļi-Lietavnieki-Preiļi-8,7 km

TOTAL LENGTH-51,5km

In the route, asphalt coverage is for 5.8 km of the road, gravel coverage - for 19.1 km and an improved earth road is 12.3 km long. The terrain is mostly flat. The most ascending and descending takes place from Ondzuļi to Preiļi. On rainy days or after incessant rain, the ground roads, thanks to Latgallian clay, can be slippery and muddy. During dry weather, on the gravel roads a sharp descend(trepe) can develop, especially in the stage Šaures-Rušona. Shopping should be planned in Aizkalne or Kastīre. Public catering services in this route are not available. Make sure you have the most necessary bicycle spare parts with you, because in this route you won’t have the possibility to buy them.

More information about the route. www.dekaini.lv

Contacts:

Phone: +371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:
dekaini@inbox.lv
www.dekaini.lv

Gallery:

Preiļi-Pelēči-Aizkalne-Preiļi

Preiļi-Pelēči-Aizkalne-Preiļi

We offer three options for this route that can be combined in many variations. The cyclists can choose the option they like best, taking into account their physical readiness, the amount of time they have and other personal preferences.

First option

Preiļi-”Ošu mājas”-3 km

“Ošu mājas”- turn to Kalvāni-10,5 km

Turn to Kalvāni-Pelēči lake-Pelēči-4,5 km

Pelēči-Pelēči manor-Nīdermuiža-3,5 km

Nīdermuiža-Krasnogorka-Grociški-Pelēči windmill-Gornejaši-9,5 km

Gornejaši-”Jāņi”-Maskeviciški (Pine of Rumēlija)-3,5 km

Maskeviciški-”Cerības”(Dream house)5 km

“Cerības”-Aizkalne-Kažemāki-Šņepsti castle mound-8 km

Šņepsti castle mound-Korsikova-Anspoki-Preiļi-10,5 km

TOTAL LENGTH-58,0km

In this route asphalt covering is 31 km long, gravel covering - 15 km, improved earth road is 5 km long un earth road is 7 km long. The terrain is mostly flat – the largest rise is getting uphill near Gornejaši, the largest descent is when going from Anspoki to Preiļupe valley.

Even during rain or after it, the roads are in a good condition and are passable without issues. When on Preiļi-Daugavpils or Preiļi-Aglona roads, one must be careful of the traffic, especially, if going with kids. More intense traffic is on Preiļi-Aglona road. In some parts of the routes, in places that are near farm yards, one should be careful of dogs running around without leashes. The rule stands as follows – the smaller the dog, the more agressive it is.

The route can be finished in a day by any healthy person and children of at least 10 years. Shopping should be planned for Preiļi, Pelēči or Aizkalne. In Pelēči and Aizkalne one can only buy food and the most basic items. If a bicycle repair is required, then the most necessary items can be bought in Preiļi. Public catering services are available only in Preiļi.

More information about the route can be found here. www.dekaini.lv

Contacts:

Phone: +371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:
dekaini@inbox.lv
www.dekaini.lv

Gallery:

Preiļi-Pelēči-Aizkalne-Preiļi

Preiļi-Pelēči-Aizkalne-Preiļi

Second option

Preiļi-”Ošu mājas”-3 km

“Ošu mājas”- turn to Kalvāni-10,5 km

Turn to Kalvāni-Pelēči lake-Pelēči-Pelēči manor-5,5 km

Pelēči manor-Pelēči-Grociški-Pelēči windmill-Gornejaši-6,0 km

Gornejaši-”Jāņi”-Maskeviciški (pine of Rumēlija)-3,5 km

Maskeviciški-”Cerības”(Dream house)-5 km

“Cerības”-Aizkalne-Korsikova-Anspoki-Preiļi-15,0 km

TOTAL LENGTH-48,5km

In this route asphalt covering is 32,5 km long, gravel covering – 8,5 km, improved earth road is 1 km long un earth road is 6,5 km long. It continues as in the first option.  In the second option we go without visiting Nīdermuiža catholic church. In this option, after visitin Pelēči manor and getting on Preiļi - Daugavpils road, we move left, back to centre of Pelēči and on the crossroads to Ārdava we move right and then left to Aizkalni. After 300m there is another change, we go right and move towards the Dižkoks track. After Dižkoks track the route takes us to Aizkalni and continues as in the first option. After visiting Aizkalne we don't move to Šņepsti castle mound, but get on an asphalted road to Korsikova, moving through Anspoki manor to Preiļi. More information can be found here. www.dekaini.lv

Contacts:

Phone: +371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:
dekaini@inbox.lv
www.dekaini.lv

Gallery:

Preiļi-Pelēči-Aizkalne-Preiļi

Preiļi-Pelēči-Aizkalne-Preiļi

Third option

Preiļi-”Ošu mājas”-3 km

“Ošu mājas”- turn to Kalvāni-10,5 km

Turn to Kalvāni-Pelēči lake-Kalvāni-Aizkalne-6 km

Aizkalne-Korsikova-Anspoki-Preiļi-13,5 km

TOTAL LENGTH-33 km

In the route, asphalt coverage is for 27.5 km of the road, gravel coverage - for 4.5 km and an improved earth road is 1 km long. The terrain is mostly flat - the largest descent is from Anspoki  to Preiļupe valley after which there is a rise, but it is not long. Then the route continues as in the first option. 
Shopping should be planned in Preiļi or Aizkalne. In Aizkalne only food and basic items will be possible to obtain. If a bicycle repair is needed, then items of highest necessity can be found only in Preiļi. Public catering sevices can be only found in Preiļi.

If the weather is good and you wish to swim, then the best swimming places are by the Limanka lake, but this option should be discussed with the owners of the land. There are no public swimming places in this route.

The route til Kalvāni castle mound is the same as in the first option. After Kalvāni castle mound the route continues straight between Limanka and Pelēči lakes. After approximately 3 km we will arrive to Aizkalne-Pelēci road. Then we turn left and reach Aizkalne after 2 km. The further route is the same as in option number two.

More information about the route can be found:. www.dekaini.lv

Contacts:

Phone: +371 26 44 25 35
E-mail:
dekaini@inbox.lv
www.dekaini.lv

Gallery:

BMX track in Preili

BMX track in Preili

Near the highway there is an open-air cafe "Pampūkas", where you can taste homemade ice cream and pancakes.

Contacts:

Daugavpils Street 54, Preiļi, LV-5301
Phone:  +371 25900775 (Artis Upenieks)

Lat: 56.2865669, Lon: 26.7249941

Gallery:

Skiing and Nordic walking track

Skiing and Nordic walking track

Apply beforehand via phone!

Contacts:

Liepu Street 5A, Kastīres, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329
Phone: +371 25918877, +371 28892132

Lat: 56.2099303, Lon: 26.8775031

Gallery:

Skiing and Nordic walking track in Riebiņi

Skiing and Nordic walking track in Riebiņi

Length of the track - 1 km. Free rental of inventory.

Contacts:

Liepu Street 21, Riebiņi, Riebiņi Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5326
Phone: +371 65323684, +371 28669397
E-mail: riebinuvsk@riebini.lv; inetaanspoka@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.2099303, Lon: 26.8775031

Gallery:

Skiing track in "Silmalas"

Skiing track in "Silmalas"

A good way to spend your leisure time for those, who love winter sports (ice fishing, skiing, et.c), and water activity enthusiasts during summer - in our leisure base in "Silmalas", in Rušona Rural Territory.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Siveriņa, Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329

Mob. phone: +371 29101378, +371 22830104

e-mail: zalaneanna@inbox.lv

WEB page: www.atputalatgale.lv/

Lat: 56.2017233, Lon: 26.9980094

Gallery:

Skiing and Nordic walking track

Skiing and Nordic walking track

Skiing and Nordic walking track in Silmalas. Fully-lighted ski track. Track lenght - 1,5 km. Free inventory rental.

Contacts:

Skolas Street 4, Stabulnieki, Stabulnieku Parish, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 29454928

Lat: 56.4196531, Lon: 26.7837217

Gallery:

Skiing and Nordic walking track in Preiļi

Skiing and Nordic walking track in Preiļi

Once a good bit of snow covers the ground, Preiļi park is ready to become a skiing track. In Preiļi Municipality Childrens' and Youth Sport School BJSS, in 24 Aglona Street, in Preiļi, those, willing to participate in active leisure from 14.00 till 22.00 can receive free skis and ski boots. If you wish to use the inventory during weekend and on weekdays before 14.00, call the skiing coach, Artis Upenieks (phone number 25900775). After skiing, the inventory must be given back in the same day and in the same condition. Instructions related to skiing can be received from Artis Upenieks, too.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Lat: 56.2884285, Lon: 26.7356066

Gallery:

Skating and hockey rink in Preiļi

Skating and hockey rink in Preiļi

During winter period, a skating and hockey rink is available. It is located near Preiļi Elementary school No.1, in Preiļi, 34 Daugavpils Street. In this skating rink hockey trainings are held, and one can rent skates. All questions regarding hockey training can be adressed to coach Vladimirs Točko, phone number 29509770.

Contacts:

Daugavpils Street 34, Preiļi, LV-5301
Phone: +371 29509770

Lat: 56.2912965, Lon: 26.7220822

Gallery:

TIC of Preiļi Municipality

TIC of Preiļi Municipality

TIC also offers:

1) Information on sight-seeing objects throughout Latvia, excursions, guide services, tourist routes and their creation, conference and seminar organization;

2) Information about Preiļi Municipality regarding: 

  • accommodations and bath houses
  • boat rental, activities by the water and tent sites
  • public catering services
  • museums
  • nature, cultural and historical monuments
  • hand-made creations of craftsmen and craftswomen
  • culture and sports events
  • entertainment and other information.
  • In TIC you can also buy souvenirs and booklets.

Contacts:

Address: (On the ground floor of the Preiļi Main Library) 4 Kārsavas Street, Preiļi, LV - 5301

Phone number:  +371 29100689

 

Lat: 56.2954052, Lon: 26.7274177

Gallery:

Public internet access in Preiļi Municipality

Public internet access in Preiļi Municipality

TIC of Preiļi Municipality.  4 Kārsavas Street , Preiļi. Working hours: Monday - Thursday 9.00 - 12:00; 12:30 - 17:00; Friday 9.00 - 12:00; 12:30 - 16:00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65322041

NGO support centre. 6 Kooperatīva Street, the third floor, Preiļi. Working hours: week days 10.00 - 18.00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number:  +371 65321603,

Main Library of Preiļi. 4 Kārsavas Street, Preiļi. Working hours: Monday 9.00 - 19.00; Tuesday - Friday 9.00 - 18.00; Saturday 10.00 -15.00 Closed: Sunday. Phone number  +371 65381230, 29991263

 

Aglona Rural Territory Preiļi Municipality

Aglona Library. 38 Daugavpils Street, Aglona. Working hours: week days 10.00 - 18.00; Saturday 10.00 - 16.00 Closed: Sunday Phone number: +371 65324366

Aglona Bus Station. 37 Somersetas Street, Aglona. Available 24 hours a day.

Parking Place. Area between buildings on 35 Somersetas Street and 37 Somersetas street. Available 24 hours a day.

 

Aizkalne Library of Preiļi Municipality. 5 Raiņa Street, Aizkalne. Working hours: Monday 8.00 - 15.00; Tuesday 8.00 - 17.00; Wednesday 8.00 - 15.00; Thursday 8.00 - 17.00; Friday 8.00 - 16.00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371  65326656

 

Galēni Rural Territory of Preiļi Municipality 

Territorial administration of Galēni Rural Territory, 1 Liepu Street, Galēni. Working hours: week days 8.30 – 16.30 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65329003

Galēni Library,  1 Liepu Street, Galēni. Working hours: week days 9.00 - 17.00. Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65329003

 Galēni Elementary School, 11 Skolas Street, Galēni. During school season. Phone number: +371 65329002

Roberts Mūks Museum, 11c Skolas Street, Galēni. Working hours: week days 9.00 - 17.00. Phone number: +371 25925621

 

Līči Library of Preiļi Municipality. 1 Jaunatne Street, Līči. Working hours: Monday, Wednesday 9.00 – 19.00; Tuesday, Thursday 9.00 - 16.00 Friday 9.00 - 15.00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 22002497

 

Pelēči Rural Territory of Preiļi Municipality

Ārdava Library,  Ārdava. Working hours: Tuesday - Saturday 8.30 – 12.30; 13.00 -17.00 Closed: Sunday, Monday. Phone number: +371 65326746

Pelēči Library, 6 Liepu Street, Pelēči. , Working hours: week days 9.00 - 17.00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 26446241

 

Riebiņi Rural Territory of Preiļi Municipality

Riebiņi Library, 8 Saules Street, Riebiņi. Working hours: Tuesday to Friday 9.00 - 18.00, Monday and Saturday 9.00 - 17.00 Closed: Sunday. Phone number: +371 65323646

 

Rušona Rural Territory of Preiļi Municipality

Rušona Library, Aglona station. Working hours: Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday 9.00 - 18.00, Thursday 12.00 - 20.00, Saturday 9.00 - 14.00 Closed: Monday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65326101

Kastīre Library, Kastīre. Working hours: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 9.00 - 17.00 , Wednesday 12.00 - 20.00, Saturday 9.00 - 14.00 Closed: Monday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65326452

 

Sauna Rural Territory of Preļi Municipality

Sauna Library, 2 Mehanizatoru Street, Prīkuļi. Working hours: Tuesday - Saturday 9.00 - 17.00. Closed:  Sunday, Monday. Phone number: +371 26669108

Smelteri Library, Smelteri. Working hours: Monday - Saturday 9.00 – 13.00; 14.00 – 18.00 Closed:  Sunday, Monday. Phone number: +371 26604448 

 

Silajāņi Rural Territory of Preiļi Municipality

Silajāņi Library, 1 Miera Street, Silajāņi.  Working hours: Tuesday to Friday 9.00 – 17.00. Closed: Monday, Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65326842

 

Sīļukalna Rural Territory of Preiļi Municipality

Sīļukalna Library 3 Latgales Street, Sīļukalns. Working hours: week days 9.00  – 16.30 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65326201

 

Stabulnieki Rural Territory of Riebiņi Municipality

Territorial administration of Stabulnieki Rural Territory, 3 Skolas Street, Stabulnieki. Working hours:  week days 8.30 - 16.00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65326500

Stabulnieki Library, 3 Skolas Street. Working hours: week days 8.30 - 17.00 Closed: Saturday, Sunday. Phone number: +371 65326504

Contacts:

    

Gallery:

Souvenir buying

Souvenir buying

Preiļi Municipality TIC

Kārsavas Street 4, Preiļi, LV-5301

Phone: +371 653 22041, +371 29100689

tic@preili.lv

 

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

21 Talsu Street, Preiļi, LV-5301

Phone: +371 653 22946, +371 29429630, +371 29879412

cencers@inbox.lv

 

Store “Dekora”

Mall "Oga"

4d Rīgas Street, Preiļi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

 

Store “Maxima X”

4A Rēzeknes Street 4 A, Preiļi, LV-5301

 

Moto & Metal NESTER CUSTOM art gallery

Phone: +371 29 478 483

A.Upīša Street 20, Preiļi

LV-5301, Latvia

nester.custom@gmail.com

Contacts:

Kārsavas Street 4, Preiļi

Phone: +371 65322041

Gallery:

Excursions in Preiļi

Excursions in Preiļi

Excursions in Preiļi are offered by:

* Irēna Kjarkuža (Tourism information centre of Preiļi Municipality)

4 Kārsavas Street, Preiļi, LV-5301

Phone: +371 29116431, +371 29100689

irena.kjarkuza@preili.lv , tic@preili.lv

 

* Preiļi Museum of history and applied arts

28 Raiņa Boulevard, Preiļi, LV-5301

Phone: +371 65322731

muzejs@preili.lv

Contacts:

   

Gallery:

Map of Preiļi

Map of Preiļi

Contacts:

Gallery:

Preiļi bus station

Preiļi bus station

Bus traffic information and routes can be found here  www.1188.lv/transport

Contacts:

Adrese: Tirgus laukums 9, Preiļi, Preiļu novads, LV-5301
Tel.:+371 65322000

Lat: 56.2944516, Lon: 26.7241255

Gallery:

Car repair services

Car repair services

"E.M.B.R." SIA, autocentrs

44G Liepājas Street, Preiļi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65324436

28787804 - car parts

26121469 - repair service

E-mail:m-salinieks@inbox.lv

 

"Vicars" SIA

"Sprindži", Sprindži, Riebiņi Rural Territory, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number:  +371 65321111, 26898855, info@vicars.lv 

www.vicars.lv 

 

"Arcus D" SIA

14-2 Pils iStreet, Preiļi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65307072

 

"Ivanovkas autoserviss" ID

Ivanovka, Pieniņi, Riebiņi Rural Territory, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5326

Phone number: +371 29826190

 

"Vega P" SIA autoserviss

Vega, Jaunsaimnieki, Preiļi Rural Territory., Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65381363

 

"Aglonas Auto"

 5с Aloiza Broka Street, Aglona, Preiļi Municipality, LV- 5304

Phone number: +371 26429237; 29509351; 27550558 (the owner - Ernests)

E-mail: dzerins.ernests@gmail.com

https://aglonasauto.lv/

Contacts:

.

Gallery:

Gas stations

Gas stations

"Ingrid A" SIA gas station

4 Rīgas Street, Preiļi, Preiļi municipality., LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65381328

 

"Preiļi" SIA "RNS - D" gas station

Litavnieki, Preiļi Rural Territory, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65322773

 

 

"Preiļi" SIA "RusLatNafta" gas station

8 Rīgas Street, Preiļi, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65321403

 

"RusLatNafta" SIA gas station

Degvielas uzpildes stacija, Aglonas Stacija, Rušona Rural Territory, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5329

Phone number: +371 65326055

 

"Statoil Preiļi" SIA "Vega P" gas station

Vega, Jaunsaimnieki, Preiļi Rural Territory, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5301

Phone number: +371 65381363

 

"Virši Aglona", AS "Virši-A" gas station

11a Somersetas Street, Aglona, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5304

Phone number: +371 65381233

Contacts:

   

Gallery:

Memorial "The Interrupted Song"

Memorial "The Interrupted Song"

Installed in November 5, 1971, in memory of the fallen Soviet soldiers during the WWII. The architect of the memorial ensemble is Oļģerts Krauklis. The sculptor - Guna Zvaigznīte. The monument consists of a figural creation and a relief mural. The component of the ensemble is a figura of a woman, the material of the sculpture is copper, which is little used in monumental sculpture. The sculptor created a sitting woman, that, saddened by the fallen heroes, is leaned over a kokle (traditional Latvian instrument that resembles a lute). The 3,5 m high figure has a general character. In the concrete plate covered area, the figure is installed aside, as to not reach the travertine wall with a relief mural and memorial plaque. The contraposition of the composition is a metal plaque with the names of the fallen soldiers. In dark, the metal plaque creates a visual connection with the ground, but the travertine wall with a relief mural has a tendency to sort of rise above it. The wall itself is created from a different sized blocks, thus creating an ornament.

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Atrodas starp Liepu un A.Paulāna ielu Preiļos

Lat: 56.2892146, Lon: 26.7287884

Gallery:

Memorial for victims of Holocaust

Memorial for victims of Holocaust

In 2004, following the initiative of David Silberman, the Holocaust Victims’ Memorial was opened in Preili. The memorial was sponsored by D. Silberman, the architect – Sergejs Rizs. Every year in August, an event takes place at this site, with the aim of honouring the commemoration of Preili Jewish people killed in the Holocaust in 1941.

 

Contacts:

Cēsu iela, Preiļi, LV 5301

Lat: 56.2888986, Lon: 26.7177186

Gallery:

Memorial for politically repressed

Memorial for politically repressed

The author of the memorial is sculptor Vija Dzintare. Every year a tribute is paid to the victims of political repression on March 25 and June 14. 

Contacts:

Tirgus laukums 11, Preiļi, LV 5301
Piemineklis uzstādīts 1995.gadā, tā autore ir tēlniece Vija Dzintare.Ik gadu šeit notiek piemiņas brīži politisko represiju upuriem 25.martā un 14.jūnijā.

Lat: 56.2942571, Lon: 26.7263571

Gallery:

Memorial stone of Ignats Bečs

Memorial stone of Ignats Bečs

Born on February 14, 1890, in Litavnieki village, in a family of poor farmers - Jāzeps and Elizabete. Ignats was one of 6 brothers, three of them later became soldiers. On December 15, 1918, he decided to become a part of Latvian army and fought in its first battle unit, a batallion, led by colonel Oskars Kalpaks. On September 30, 1919, I.Bečs was promoted to captain and was shifted to a commander of a batallion, to Latgale partisan regiment, that was a part of Kurzeme division and fought for freedom of Latgale from Soviet Russian intervents. As a result of 1920 January-February attacks, Latvian army in the East reached the etnographic borders of Latvian nation and regained a previous part of Latvian land - Abrene district. The soldiers were highly enthusiastic when fighting for these lands, and especially elated were the Latgale partisan regiment and Latgallians, who were in other units of the army. On February 2, 1920, by Augšpils, in front of his batallion and under intense fire, Ignats Bečs was able to take over the strongly fortified hill, being the first one who ran to the top of it with a machine gun and firing at the enemy. Due to his personal bravery and skill of battle strategy, three counterattacks were stood against and a strategically important point of defense was held. 

 

 

Until 1936, Ignats Bečs worked in different positions in Latvian Border Defense. In 1936 Ignats Bečs was promoted to a lieutenant-colonel and shifted to work as head of the Abrene city Order police, but in 1939 he was shifted to work in the same position, but in Preiļi city. In July 1940, he was arrested by Checkists, and, together with his documents, orders and sword, was taken to Daugavpils prison. On June 14, 1941 Ignats Bečs was deported to Russia, to district of Krasnojarsk, and in 1943, he died while in gulag, a Soviet forced labor camp.

 

 

 

 

On November 11, 1992, in Litavnieki, a memorial stone in honour of Ignats Bečs was installed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Adrese: Litavnieki, Preiļu pagasts, Preiļu novads

Adrese slavas zālei: Zemessardzes 35.Nodrošinājuma bataljons, Litavnieki, Preiļi.

Lat: 56.2787734, Lon: 26.7596002

Gallery:

Gornejaši mortuary

Gornejaši mortuary

The mortuary is dated 1788. Examples of baroque time period paintings are found in its furnishings. Two crucifixes of early 19th century are viewable in it, together with an altar, dated 18th century.

Contacts:

Adrese: Gornejaši, Pelēču pagasts, Preiļu novads

Lat: 56.1488440, Lon: 26.7395615

Gallery:

Ancient burial grounds of Gāga

Ancient burial grounds of Gāga

Included in the list of Cultural Heritage Protection in Preiļi Municipality.

Contacts:

Adrese: Gāgas, Aizkalnes pagasts, Preiļu novads

Lat: 56.2128824, Lon: 26.8309453

Gallery:

Memorial of General Jāzeps Baško

Memorial of General Jāzeps Baško

Jāzeps Baško was born on January 9, 1889, in Kastīre, in Jasmuiža village (now – Rušona Rural Territory) of Daugavpils district in a large family of farmers. Jāzeps was the youngest of the children and since early childhood, as a shepherd, had to earn daily bread for the whole family. Despite the poverty, the parents let Jāzeps attend school – at first Jasmuiža elementary, then a full course of Preiļi Two-Year-Long school (3+2 years). The brother Kazimirs at that time worked in Russia, in a Belostoka train station, and took Jāzeps with him to get him ready for Realschool (Realschule) of Belostoka. In 1908 Jāzeps graduated with the school with remarkable results, despite the harsh life situation. Further education in Kiev engineering school was prohibited by Tzar’s officers, who replied to the application of Jāzeps, stating, that only those with landlord descent can study there. It didn’t dampen his spirit and the went on to pursue education in Saint Petersburg, in the Military Academy of Grand Duke Vladimir, which he graduated from in 1910 and was sent to a sapper battalion in Smolensk. The same year, the brother of Jāzeps, Kazimirs, died and Jāzeps lost all material and moral support. From his last money, that Kazimirs sent before his death, Jāzeps bought a uniform of an officer and went home to visit his family. The last words Jāzeps heard from his mother were “Son, don’t make the soldiers suffer!”. These words Jāzeps remembered for all his life and went on to tell to many aviators. Jāzeps Baško continued his military education in Saint Petersburg. In 1911 he applied to become and officer in the Aviation department of the Aviation school. Here, on August 15 of 1912, Jāzeps did his first long-distance flight with an air balloon, spending 15 hours in air. In September 1912, Jāzeps graduated from the school and became the junior officer in Aviation company No.7, but in 1913 he continued to pursue education in Gatčina academy of military aviation, thus becoming a certified military aviation specialist. Seeing the great talents of Jāzeps, the High Command decided to shift Jāzeps to becoming a teacher in Aviation school, but these plans were interrupted by World War I. As war began, J.Baško was shifted to the 13th aviation company of army no.6. Soon Baško received an order – to organize a bomber squad. This squad had to use the new and largest (at the time), 4 motor aircrafts – “Ilya Muromec”. Jāzeps Baško did lots and lots of air attacks and many fights were won due to his leadership, but he also received many injuries that had a large impact on his health. During the war he made the third of air attacks of the whole bomber squad. With aircraft “Ilya Muromec” he made 4 world records in aviation. Jāzeps Baško received all orders that could be given in Russia at the time – 4 Juris crosses, Juris order, Juris weapon, 2 Vladimir, 2 Staņislavs, 3 Anna orders. Overall, J.Baško was stated to be the best bomber in the world and one of the best aviators ever – his name is written in the Golden book of Lous Blerio in Paris. After the war and a peace pact signed with Soviet Russia, Latvians were allowed to repatriate from Russia. J.Baško decided to go back to Latgale, to his father’s home to enjoy rest and cultivate the land and fish. When he returned, both parents had already died. Jāzeps decided to change his initial plan and he went to Rīga, and in 1922 began working in the Army of Latvia, as the commander of the Aviation division, thus taking care of the heavily damaged Spilve aerodrome, reorganization of the division, worked on flight regulations and other works connected with Latvian aviation. At first the Latvian aviators only had the aircrafts that were left behind by Germans. In 1924 the Aviation division received new aircrafts from Italy. At the time, the flying safety was badly developed and that is why many aviators lost their lives. Being a very religious man, Jāzeps Baško would get on his knees in front of the coffins of the deceased aviators and say a prayer. As a part of developing Latvian aviation, J.Baško together with Defense administration representatives went to England, Czechoslovakia  and other countries to buy new aircrafts. At the same time of leading the Aviation squad, he was giving lectures in Aviation Academy, aviators of Guard Aviation, in the Military academy, the Officer academy and even in the Catholic Spiritual seminar. Jāzeps Baško heritage can be seen in his books as well: “Aeronavigation”, the first book about aviation on Latvian, “Organization of Aviation” and “Graph of Speed”. His work was remarkable in military publications as well: he wrote many specialist books, articles in periodical press – “Latvian soldier”, “Winged Latvia”, “Guard” and others. There were also new books – “Tactics of aviation”, “The actions of aviation in examples”, etc. He was an author in “Latvian thesaurus”, where he gave the most information on aviation and aircrafts. In 1929, Jāzeps Baško was shifted to the Highest Military academy and after graduation he was shifted to the department of Technical division where he became the head of the headquarters and aviation inspector, but in 1938 he became the director of Army aviation, and oversaw Aviator company of Guards and Aeroclub of Latvia. In 1938, Jāzeps Baško was promoted to a general. Due to his contribution in the development of Latvian aviation, he was given the Third sort of Triju zvaigžņu order in 1929, a Second sort of Viestura order and many orders of foreign countries: “White rose” of Finland, “White ribbon” of Czechoslovakia, “Eagle” of Estonia, “Polonia Restituta” of Poland and many others. Aviation was the lifetime passion of Jāzeps, he had lots of knowledge and experience in it, and all of that shined through his work. At the same time, Jāzeps remained modest, accurate and strict towards himself and others, treated everyone equally, regardless of their rank or occupation. In 1940, J.Baško retired and went back to live in his father’s home, to fulfill his dream of resting in his home. In the 1940s, both powers who tried to occupate Latvia tried to use J.Baško to work on their side, but he declined every one of their offers. Jāzeps Baško died on May 31, 1946, at the age of 57 years and was buried in his home village Eikša cemetery. Jāzeps gave his home, that was built in 15 years, to the needs of the local school. After the death of her husband, the wife of Jāzeps, Jevdokija, while living in Mežaparks, in Rīga, wrote his detailed biography. She died in 1964.

Contacts:

Kastīre, Rušonas pag., Riebiņu nov.
Tālr.: 26390327, 65322731
Preiļu vēstures un lietišķās mākslas muzejs

Lat: 56.2112136, Lon: 26.8732502

Gallery:

Memorial stone for composer I.Ivanovs

Memorial stone for composer I.Ivanovs

Born in October 9, 2906, in Babri village of Preiļi (Riebiņi) Rural territory - died on March 27, 1983, in Riga. Buried in March 31, 1983, in Riga, Meža cemetery. Composer, padagogue, conductor, social and musical worker. Father of a pianist Igors Ivanovs. Graduated Latvian Conservatory class of composition of professor Jāzeps Vītols in 1931, class of practical composition in 1933, class of conductoring of professor Georgs Šnēfogts in 1933. Sound director of Latvijas Radiofons, conductor of symphonical orchestra (1931-1945), art director of Latvian Radio program and television commitee (1945-1963), lecturer of composition and instrumentation classes of Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Sate Conservatory (1944-1983; professor, 1955), People's Arist of USSR (1956), Theatre Arist of USSR (1965), State Prize of USSR (1950), Latvian SSR State Prize (1959, 1970), fellow of Association of Latvian Composers (1944). In 1984, J,Ivanovs Prize was created to promote creative work of composers and musicologists, music pedagogues and propaganda of music. The winners of J.Ivanovs prize - Leonīds Vīgners, Oļģerts Grāvītis, Juris Karlsons, Imants Kokars, Ludvigs Kārkliņš, Jānis Rijnieks, Romualds Jermaks, Arnolds Laimonis Klotiņš, Gunārs Ordelovskis, Pēteris Plakidis.

Music Highschool of Rēzekne has been given the name of J.Ivanovs. In Babri village a memorial stone with the portrait of the composer (October 11, 1986, sculptor - A.Zelčs) has been installed. Since 1983 in Preiļi municipality and in Rēzekne a J.Ivanovs festival is held.

 

 

 

 

Contacts:

Adrese: Babri, Riebiņu pagasts, Riebiņu novads

Lat: 56.3222296, Lon: 26.6862400

Gallery:

Preili Jewish Citizens’ Cemetery

Preili Jewish Citizens’ Cemetery

Preili Jewish Citizens’ Cemetery is on the outskirts of the town. The oldest burial found is dated with the year of 1833. The Hebrew inscription on it says “Menahem Man ben Abraham Abba is buried here. Died in 24.11.1833. Our rabbi and teacher. Son of Abraham Abbas.” The last man in Preili Jewish Cemetery was buried in 1964.

In 2015, a memorial arch for the Jewish community in Preili was unveiled, sponsored by David Silberman. The architect – Sergejs Rizs. The arch is shaped by a resemblance to the Jewish prayer shawl– a tallit, on which the traditional Hebrew headstones inscription is written in different languages “May their souls be bound in the bond of life”. The gates, on the other hand, resemble menorah – a Jewish symbol of light, renewal, and life.

Contacts:

Cēsu iela, Preiļi, LV 5301

Tel. +371 65322731, 25640398 (Preiļu Vēstures un lietišķās mākslas muzejs)
e-pasts: muzejs@preili.lv

Lat: 56.2888986, Lon: 26.7177186

Gallery:

Memorial place to the national partisans group led by J. Vilcāns

Memorial place to the national partisans group led by J. Vilcāns

A memorial place to the national partisans group of Vanagi area has been created in "Avotnīca". The group was led by Jānis Vilcāns. Since 1947 the memory of fallen partisans was honored more quietly, but after the Restoration of Independence of the Republic Latvia - it happened more openly. 

In Avotnīca there is a cross and a memorial stone to partisans, and a fireplace.

A hiking route  with signposts from Neicenieki to Avotnīca has been created. A total lenght of the route - 2,7 km. 

Contacts:

Location: Avotnīca, Rožkalni Parish, Preiļi Municipality, LV-5325

Lat: 56.2690610, Lon: 26.3402800

Gallery:

Helix farm

Helix farm

Helix farm „Ošu mājas”
Very near to Preiļi, approximately 500 m behind town’s border towards Daugavpils, is situated a farm “Ošu mājas”, whose owners are occupied with rather non-traditional, to Latgale non-characteristic and modern agricultural production – helix farming.

Contacts:

"Ošu mājas", Jaunsaimnieki, Preiļu Parish, Preiļi Municipality
Phone: +371 29443577, +371 26404977
ainisn@inbox.lv
Kontaktpersona: Ainis Noviks, Valentīna Novika
Darba laiks: no 15. maija līdz 15. oktobrim pēc iepriekšējas pieteikšanās

Lat: 56.2691825, Lon: 26.7189637

Gallery:

Home-made cheese tasting in farm "Juri"

Home-made cheese tasting in farm "Juri"

Biological farm "Juri" invites you to taste, see the making of and buy original Latgallian home-made cheese that is being praised even by Mārtiņš Rītiņš, executive chef and director of a renowned restaurant, "Vincents"!

Working hours: throughout the year, informing the owner about your visit beforehand.

The farm offers: cheese tasting, camping, a wide variety of delicacies that can be bought, and getting to know domestic animals.

History of the place and origins of the produce:

The origins of farm "Juri" can be traced back to 1930's, when the grandfather of the current owner, Juris Lubāns, built a house in this location and began creating his farm. The current owners - Juris and Lidija - used to live and work in the city, but soon understood that city life is not to their taste. In 1990's they moved back to Riebiņi municipality and began working in the farm. To live, it wasn't enough with traditional farming, so they took on cheese-making. As time went, their cheese was more and more complimented on by their relatives and neighbours, and now the makers of traditional Latgallian cheese have developed a circle of loyal clients. Due to large interest from tourists, the owners are currently remaking the farm for the needs of cheese dairy and to offer guest house services. They are actively working towards making the stay for the visitors a great experience.

More about the product and activities:

Farm "Juri" makes cheese from a biological milk that is being given by ten cows. They make the cheese with their own hands. When in the farm, the hospitable owners will tell you about the cheese making traditions. They will shed light on the recipes that come from not only masterful cheese makers, but recipes that come from cookbooks of 1940's Latvia, and recipes that they have created themselves. The owners will offer you tea or coffee that you'll drink from dishes that have been made by Latgallian potters, and, of course, will offer you to taste a large variety of cheeses. Firstly the Midsummer cheese with cumin or greens (whichever you like best), then the soft Mozzarella and fresh Ricotta cheeses, that are being praised by cheese experts. The lovely atmosphere of the farm "Juri", the friendly and hospitable owners and farm delicacies - buttermilk, whey, curdled milk and home made butter, that you can ask to try out, creates a lovely feeling of calmness that you'll want to enjoy again and again, not paying attention to the ticking clock.

Don't miss it out! When in Latgale, you must try out the original Latgallian cheese, that takes 2-3 days to make, and you need to try out other simple, hand made delicacies that were created by the owners.

Other activities

Here, like in every respectable farm, you can not only try out local delicacies and buy them, but enjoy the fresh air and together with the family cuddle domestic animals and take a look at their feedlot. If you get carried away by the scenery and atmosphere, don't worry - you can stay over in a tent!
More information: www.gardumuti.lv/vietas/saimniecibas-juri-latgales-siers.html

Contacts:

Bioloģiskā z/s "Juri"
Lubāni, Rušonas pagasts, Riebiņu novads. Tel.: (+ 371) 29182355 E-mail: zsjuri@gmail.com

Lat: 56.1936192, Lon: 26.9471855

Gallery:

Excursion in Preili

Excursion in Preili

During the tour you will see the sights of the city, as well as you will have the opportunity to take a walk in one of the largest parks in Latvia and hear exciting legends.

Contacts:

Kārsavas iela 4, Preiļi, LV-5301

+371 29100689; +371 28362473

Lat: 56.2954387, Lon: 26.7274409

Gallery:

Bišu mācību drava "Kāres"

Bišu mācību drava "Kāres"

games and training about beekeeping and life of bees. A special programme has been created for pupils. While walking through the educational and informative nature path you'll be offered to taste home-made honey

Pre-arrangment of the visit - obligatory!

Contacts:

Pīnupi, Jāņi, Pelēču pag.
Tel.: +371 28237502

Lat: 56.1623260, Lon: 26.7707453

Gallery:

Horse farm "Trīs vītolu staļļi"

Horse farm "Trīs vītolu staļļi"

The herd consists of specially bred horses. In Riebiņi, horses spend time from birth till they turn 2 years old. Every day the horses are taken out in the pasture for them to run around, play and enjoy fresh air. The horses get used to people and learn basic norms of behavior. They enjoy playing around, having fun in the snow and swimming. Ltd "Trīs vītolu staļļi" (in English - "Three willow stables") name originates from the fact, that nearby the stables there is a large willow and two other willows were planted in an equal distance from it. When they grow up, several generations of horses will have grown up in Riebiņi.

Horses are available for concours d'elegance and for dressage, fillies and colts. The mares are being coupled with imported stallions, and locally grown stallions, that have been recognized by Latvian Horsekeeper Association. There is a possibility to artificially couple mares with German stallions from catalgoues. The horse farm works with creating and developing a gene pool of Latvian horses. The horse farm offers mare coupling naturally and artificially. The horse farm also offers a one hour long seminar in which they share their experience about horse breeding.

Contacts:

Address: 18 Skolas Street, Riebiņi, Riebiņi Municipality, LV-5326, Phone number: +371 29112796, 26339388, 65356807 3vitolu@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.3345561, Lon: 26.8005189

Gallery:

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

in which one can follow the development of the ceramist beginning the creation of simple everyday dishes to distinct and complex forms of decorative ceramics, enjoy the craftsman's color pallette and the diversity of ornaments. The ceramists offer the visitors:

  • to watch how a ceramist creates a vase on a lathe;
  • to try out bowl turning and creating (you can take your creation with you or receive it via mail later, once it's been fired);
  • tours for pupils, team games about household dishes and getting to know Latgallian names of them;
  • a special programme is developed for events (weddings, anniversaries, etc);
  • you can buy creations of the ceramists;
  • you can order a special item that will be either given to you personally or sent via courier mail;
  • spend time in an exciting way with your family and friends!

 

Contacts:

Talsu iela 21, Preiļi
Tel. 29429630; 29879412
Vēlams iepriekš pieteikties!
www.preilukeramika.viss.lv

Lat: 56.2913212, Lon: 26.7153034

Gallery:

Ice cream with cheese.

Ice cream with cheese.

The cafe on the summer terrace, which is located on the beach of the Preili Park pond, offers 100% natural homemade ice cream with berries. Fresh Pampukas pancakes are baked on the spot. The cafe is only available during the season from June to September. For tourist groups are offered excursions and ice cream tasting with cheese.

 

+371 25867735, +371 27794042.

 

 

Contacts:

+371 25867735, 27794042

Lat: 56.2865669, Lon: 26.7249941

Gallery:

CHANT IN PREILI CHAPEL

CHANT IN PREILI CHAPEL

Upon request you can hear the 30-minute singing of the tour guide Irēna Kjarkuža. The repertoire includes both spiritual and secular songs.

+371 29116431, +371 29100689

Contacts:

+371 29116431,

+371 29100689

tic@preili.lv

Gallery:

Author-excursion “Old Believers in Moskvina village”

Author-excursion “Old Believers in Moskvina village”

Author-excursion “Old Believers in Moskvina village” with a visit of Old Believers Prayer House (in his free time from services)

During the tour you will have the opportunity to learn about the following topics:

- Arrival of Old Believers in Infantija

- the special differences of Old Believers with the local population

- traditional culture and way of life

- Pavel Tretyakov, creator of the Moscow Art Gallery and Moskvina village - what do they have in common?

- The unusual fate of the Moskvina prayer house bell

- well-known people in Latvia among Old Believers

- Latvian writers about Old Believers.

 

Duration of the tour 1 hour.

Payment - donations.

Pre-registration by phone. +371 24922041

Contacts:

Pre-registration by phone. +371 24922041

Moskvina village, Preiļi county  (5km from Preili city).

 

Lat: 56.3041403, Lon: 26.6426125

 

Gallery:

Settlement sign "Golden Bottom"

Settlement sign "Golden Bottom"

On June 2, 2019, the "Zalta dybyns" sign of the settlement, "Golden Bottom" was opened.

 

It is located in a private area, the owners of which want to promote the place and the county, tell the history of the place. It has also created an offer for tourist groups - an entertainment event with songs, dances, tastings, local traditions of honor, etc. together with a local folklore group. During the event, it is possible to buy wooden products, honey and its products, fabrics, handicrafts, souvenirs, local delicacies, etc. from local craftsmen.

The duration of the event is 1.5-2 hours. Number of participants 1-50.

The event takes place in Latgalian language, let us feel the true aura of this place.

Pre-registration by phone: +371 27077736 (owner of Zalta Dybyns Kaspars) or +371 29193839 (Anita, leader of the folklore group)

Contacts:

Zelta Dibens, Saunas pagasts, Preiļu novads, LV-5326

 

Gallery:

Excursion in porcelain workshop "Piece of Touch"

Excursion in porcelain workshop "Piece of Touch"

After studying in Riga, at the Latvian Academy of Arts, Sintija returned to Preili, the city where she was born and spent her childhood. With the support of a friend, family and project, a pottery workshop - "Piece Of Touch" - was created with the idea, that each work created is a small part of the potter, who continues to live in new places, telling for the joy of creation and making everyday life more beautiful.

Mostly Sintija works with porcelain, she likes the lightness, transparency and finesse of the material. Families and larger groups can visit the workshop and learn more about the variety of work processes and materials, as well as apply for a master class and create their own unique ceramic dish or décor.

The workshop also has a shop for porcelain and other pottery.

Contacts:

Jaunā iela 8, Preiļi, Preiļi county

GPS: Lat: 56.292309, Lon: 26.732719
e-mail: pieceoftouch@gmail.com
FB / Instagram - Piece Of Touch

Tel. +371 25729888

Gallery:

Fishing guide around Latgale

Fishing guide around Latgale

Although Preiļi region is not rich in lakes, passionate anglers live here. A young local guy Rainers, who has been fishing since birth and now spends almost all of his free time by the water, had the idea to offer the service of a fishing guide on the lakes and rivers of Latgale. It is an opportunity to learn fishing for those who do not know where to start, or for already knowledgeable anglers to discover new fishing places in Latgale accompanied by a guide-instructor. Soon you will also be offered all the necessary equipment so that you can come and enjoy this process without thinking about anything ...

Contacts:

Guide's phone number: +371 28179580 (Preiļi)

Gallery:

Store "Akcents"

Store "Akcents"

In the store you can buy women's, men's and children's clothing, Stock women's clothing, accessories, various materials for handicrafts, as well as beautiful handmade items. In the assortment you will find wooden candlestick, horseshoes, boxes, Latvian signs of different design and other wood products. 

Contacts:

Tirgus laukums 2, Preiļi, LV-5301

+371 22 381 217

Lat: 56.2936346, Lon: 26.7249715

Gallery:

Store "Dzīpariņš"

Store "Dzīpariņš"

In the shop "Dzīpariņš" there are not only handicraft goods - yarns of different composition and color, threads, beads, but also gift and souvenirs. The store sells as jewelery, toys, woodworks and ceramics. 

 

Contacts:

Raiņa bulvāris 17, Preiļi, LV-5301

 +371 26784743

Lat: 56.2904010, Lon: 26.7270522

Gallery:

Preili municipality TIC

Preili municipality TIC

TIC offers information about Preili municipality, and about Preili city, information about sightseeing objects throughout Latvia, excursions, guide services, tourist routes and their planning, organizing of conferences and seminars. There is an opportunity to purchase booklets, souvenirs.

 

Contacts:

Kārsavas iela 4, Preiļi, LV-5301

+371 29100689

tic@preili.lv

Lat: 56.2954426, Lon: 26.7274600

Gallery:

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

House of ceramics of P.Čerņavskis

 The ceramists offer the visitors:


  • to watch how a ceramist creates a vase on a lathe;

  • to try out bowl turning and creating (you can take your creation with you or receive it via mail later, once it's been fired);

  • tours for pupils, team games about household dishes and getting to know Latgallian names of them;

  • a special programme is developed for events (weddings, anniversaries, etc);

  • you can buy creations of the ceramists;

  • you can order a special item that will be either given to you personally or sent via courier mail;

  • spend time in an exciting way with your family and friends!

Contacts:

Talsu iela 21, Preiļi

LV-5301

+371 29879412

cencers@inbox.lv

www.preilukeramika.viss.lv

Lat: 56.2913327, Lon: 26.7163985

Gallery:

Helix farm "Ošu mājas"

Helix farm "Ošu mājas"

It is possible to purchase finished products - helix meat and souvenirs with the symbols of snails. 

Contacts:

 

"Ošu mājas" Jaunsaimnieki, , Preiļu novads

LV-5301

 +371 29443577

ainisn@inbox.lv

Lat: 56.2716380, Lon: 26.7199287

Gallery:

Shop "Maxima X"

Shop "Maxima X"

A grocery shop in which you can buy souvenirs of the city Preili.

Contacts:

Rēzeknes iela 4a, Preiļi

LV-5301

+37129614919

+371 65381124

Lat: 56.2947272, Lon: 26.7260674

 

Gallery:

Moto & Metal NESTER CUSTOM art gallery

Moto & Metal NESTER CUSTOM art gallery

In our shop, you will be able to purchase metal art objects, clothes, and souvenirs with our attribute. Photographer of the gallery will provide professional and unique photos.

Contacts:

Moto & Metal NESTER CUSTOM art gallery

+371 29 478 483

A.Upīša iela 20 Preiļi

LV-5301, Latvia

nester.custom@gmail.com

 

Lat: 56.2804704, Lon: 26.7186447

 

Gallery:

Sauna Banka for rent

Sauna Banka for rent

We also offer sauna on Preili beach. We would like to emphasize the good qualities of the sauna, which give a new breath to the spirit and body of people.

Contacts:

+371 24111166 Martins

marlo00@inbox.lv

https://www.facebook.com/banjkanoma/

Lat: 56.2862402, Lon: 26.7244613

Gallery:

Inflatable entertainment for children, 100% rest for you!

Inflatable entertainment for children, 100% rest for you!

Rent - 80 euros + delivery (30 cents per km).

The duration of the lease is from 10.00 to 20.00.

 

Reserve in time and don't miss this great opportunity!

 

Professional PVC inflatable entertainment conforming to the LVS EN 14960: 2013 and EN71 Directives.

 

Rent of inflatable entertainment for various children's parties, birthdays, camps, kindergarten graduation, other public events, sports festivals, corporate events, etc.

Contacts:

Rušona Parish, Preiļi Municipality

Phone: +371 27130411

 

Gallery:

Route for groups of children

Route for groups of children

The excursion route includes the following sightseeing objects: Latgale Arts and Crafts Center and Jersika Chips Factory (Līvāni District), Miniature Kingdom and Puppet Gallery, and Polikarps Čerņavskis Ceramic House (Preiļi District), horse farm “Three Willow Stables” (Riebiņi District).

It is mandatory to book a visit to the facilities for small groups of people in advance too.

Contacts:

Apply for a visit to each object yourself (not through TIC).

Contacts for applications:

Latgale Arts and Crafts Center - tel. +371 28603333

Factory "Jersika chips" - tel. +371 29228926

Miniature Kingdom and Doll Gallery - tel. +371 65321737

P.Čerņavskis ceramic house - tel. +371 29429630

Horse farm  - tel. +371 29112796

 

Gallery:

Nature tourism routes

Nature tourism routes

On the site  http://walk15.lt/lv/projekti/  are three routes of different lengths and types for nature tourism lovers:

1 Route: “I travel for Nature”

2 Route: “Travel with no Limits”

3 Route: “7 Days – 7 Lakes”

A mobile application "Pure Water" has been developed for travelers, with the help of which any visitor to lakes, rivers and ponds without in-depth knowledge of hydrobiology and laboratory equipment - tourist, fisherman, holidaymaker or group of students

#walk15 app will help you track the number of steps you take daily and exchange them to pay for goods and services.

This simple-to-use app will make it easy for you to share your results and encourage others to move more! Download the free app and join more than 63 000 of #walk15 friends!

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=lv.preili.purewater and

https://apps.apple.com/lv/app/t%C4%ABrs-%C5%ABdens/id1485224693

Gallery: